Social affairs – pension scheme:

The second Reformation Dragonfly of 1563 contains information about the old age pension of the employees of the salt works for the first time. The commissions (pensions) were quite good for the time and amounted to around 2/3 of the normal wages for masters and workers and half the salary of the deceased man for widows.

 

The Salinenspital in Hallstatt was also well endowed, in which the members of the Salinen from Ischl were admitted in the case of weakness, old age, frailty and illness. It had a secure annual income of 898 guilders, which was made up of foundation funds from Maximilian I and salt dedications.

 

In the Salinenspital Hallstatt not only poor, sick and old members of the salt industry in the Kammergut found accommodation and food, up to 50 people in need of care not working in the salt industry were also supported with benefices and financial aid.  

 

The exercise of religious duties was strictly regulated in the Salinenspital; the beneficiaries (pensioners) had to attend the daily mass and include requests for the emperor and the imperial house in their prayers. The hospital manager had to encourage the residents to pray, also make sure that they take communion several times and "that they, as true believers in Christ, always stand in the fear of God".

 

The beneficiaries were not badly fed, they received a pound of beef and 2 pounds of bread every meat day, and a pint of wine on holidays and communion day; they also received 2 pairs of shoes every year and a “dress” every two years.

 

Up until the middle of the 16th century, salt workers in old age were only dependent on care in the Salinenspital in Hallstatt; they only received a commission (grace pension) from princely funds after the second Reformation Libel from 1563.

 

Around 1593, the commission of a dismissed worker was 15 to 30 kreuzers a week, but many were only dealt with with a one-off gift of 10 to 12 guilders and otherwise referred to the hospital catering.

The amount of all gifts was based on wages, length of service and behavior.

 

This practice continued into the 17th century, since commissions remained mere pleas for clemency and were not bound to any specific amount. The low old-age pension, which for widows was only half of the husband’s commission, was hardly sufficient to prolong bare life in times of rising prices, which is why the Hofkammer then gave particularly needy workers and their widows, in addition to the commission, one-off grace payments of varying amounts as emergency help approved.

 

The workers in the private service of finishers, master woodworkers and shipwrights were excluded from commissions. Persons outside the right to supply could be granted support by the Salzamt as a mercy in the case of particular need and worthiness.

 

The old-age pension due to the workers directly employed by the Salt Office had, under certain conditions, almost become a gamble. Above all, the worker applying for the commission had to be permanently unable to work according to the determination of the saline physician and his official behavior had not given cause for complaint. However, the commission could also be refused for other reasons.

 

In 1751, the Salzamtmann Sternbach withdrew a worker's commission "because of the respect that the officials were not shown by not removing their hat".

 

Even in 1792, the servants did not yet have an undisputed right to the commission. At that time, the Court Chamber declared commissions in the amount of the last active salary "as a supreme grace, which not only presupposes a long period of service but, what is most important, good and useful service and therefore excellent merits".  

 

Every three months there were presentations of the commissioners, including those who had completed their 40th year of service and were entitled to full wages as commission, in which case the Chamber Gutsphysicus had to examine them to see whether they were actually capable of no work, even light work.

 

According to the resolution of February 8, 1770, the entitlement to commission began after 8 years of service, counted from the age of 15, and reached full wages as a maximum with the 40th year of service. Workers who were unable to work before their 8th year of service generally only received severance pay equal to one year's wages.

 

However, when they left work, the provisionists also lost their claim to the farm grain. It was therefore not uncommon, and was even encouraged by the Hofkammer for reasons of economy, for workers to remain in the plant after their 40th year of service as “semi-jubilees” and then had to do lighter tasks for the earlier wages.

 

The commissions of widows and orphans were almost always paid out with an increase, because the extremely low commission contributions would not have been enough to support them. Either the Hofkammer approved an increase in the normal commission, or they added a weekly alms to it.

 

Fatherless orphans also received a weekly commission and often a quarterly allowance. The reference ended at the age of 12, from 1800 onwards at the age of 14. Illegitimate children only acquired the ability to receive a commission through the subsequent marriage of their parents, otherwise the manorial system had to take care of them.

 

For the jubilee (retirement), the court chamber demanded proof of medical incapacity to work by means of a certificate, which had to be signed by the responsible doctor as well as by the district physician. 40 years of service were not enough for the court chamber to celebrate.

 

The reasons for the inability to work were often cited by the doctors at the salt works as nonsense, but also weakness of nerves, paralysis, deafness, pulmonary addiction, epilepsy, goiter, crippling and scrofula (glandular disease). The frightening frequency of these physical defects was a consequence of rather alarming signs of degeneration. Most of these were certainly the aftermath of the famine years of the French era. In addition, the inappropriate and poorly varied diet and the seclusion of the chamber estate, which led to inbreeding, were also to blame. Cretinism, which was particularly widespread in Hallstatt, only disappeared at the end of the 19th century. Malicious gossips once claimed that the construction of the railway in the 1970s, which brought many strangers to the country, had had a positive effect on the next generation.

 

Provisionists between the ages of 60 and 65, whom the Physician found suitable for lighter work, were obliged to work 1 to 3 shifts a week for free in the 13th to 39th quarter, i.e. 1 to 3 shifts a week and to do road work, shoveling snow, sand extraction, light wood production, cleaning the work gear, Geimeln (house caretaker in the miner's house) and other work.

 

Because of the low value of the provisionist work, the unwillingness with which it was done and the cumbersome supervision by the administrative offices, the ministry abolished the jubilee shifts again in 1849 without replacement.

 

The basis for calculating weekly commissions dates back to 1768. Of course, commissions of such small magnitude were no longer sufficient in the 19th century, but the court chamber nevertheless stuck to the system and, as with wages, made do with provisional measures, Cost-of-living grants and quarterly grants.

 

A widow became entitled to the normal commission only after her husband had served eight years. If her husband had died earlier, she was only entitled to a one-time severance payment equal to his last quarterly salary. Only if the worker had a fatal accident before reaching the eighth year of service did the Hofkammer grant the widow a simple commission.

 

As a result of the state bankruptcy in 1811, the Salinenspital in Hallstatt had lost almost all of its assets invested in securities and then no longer had the means to fulfill its obligations. However, through the greatest reduction in expenditure and the support of the Court Chamber, it was gradually able to recover to the point where it was able to provide for the statutory number of beneficiaries and cover the operating costs. In 1847 the hospital's assets were already so strong that the full number of 24 beneficiaries could be fed and 39 orphans could receive educational grants and 95 cases of support totaling 1,300 guilders.

 

Like the Salinenspital in Hallstatt, the Holy Spirit Hospital in Aussee served to house and feed poor, veteran imperial workers, their widows and orphans, for which purpose it received 800 guilders a year from the Salt Office. In 1815, 15 beneficiaries lived in the hospital.

 

The benefactor's house (poor house) in Ischl was not a princely institution, but the property of the market community, but had the obligation to accommodate eight employees of the salt works and, moreover, to keep two rooms available at all times to accommodate seriously ill workers. In 1844, the municipality intended to vacate the prebendary's house, which was located between the post office and the theatre, i.e. in the liveliest and most frequented area of the seaside resort, and to create a replacement building in a quieter area. The postmaster Franz Koch agreed to buy a building plot in the east of the market square in exchange for the old prebendary house and to build the new prebendary house on it at his own expense.

 

 

Sources used:

Carl Schraml "The Upper Austrian salt works from the beginning of the 16th to the middle of the 18th century", Vienna 1932

Carl Schraml "The Upper Austrian Salt Works from 1750 to the time after the French Wars", Vienna 1934

Carl Schraml "The Upper Austrian Salt Works from 1818 to the end of the Salt Office in 1850", Vienna 1936

Ischl home club "Bad Ischl home book 2004", Bad Ischl 2004

"Mining - everyday life and identity of the Dürrnberg miners and Hallein saltworks workers", Salzburg contributions to folklore, Salzburg, 1998

Soziales – Altersversorgung:

​Das zweite Reformationslibell 1563 enthält ertsmals Angaben über die Altersversorgung der Salinenangehörigen. Die Provisionen (Pensionen) waren für die damaligen Zeitverhältnisse recht gut und betrugen für Meister und Arbeiter rund 2/3 des normalen Lohnes sowie für Witwen die Hälfte der Besoldung des verstorbenen Mannes.

 

Gut dotiert war auch das Salinenspital in Hallstatt, in dem auch die Salinenangehörigen aus Ischl bei Schwachheit, Alter, Gebrechlichkeit und Krankheit aufgenommen wurden. Es hatte ein sicheres Jahreseinkommen von 898 Gulden, das sich aus Stiftungsgeldern seit Maximilian I. sowie Salzwidmungen zusammensetzte.

 

Im Salinenspital Hallstatt fanden nicht nur arme, kranke und alte Angehörige des Salzwesens im Kammergut Aufnahme und Verpflegung, es wurden auch bis zu 50 nicht im Salzwesen tätige Versorgungsbedürftige mit Pfründen und Geldaushilfen unterstützt.  

 

Die Ausübung der religiösen Pflichten war im Salinenspital streng geregelt; die Pfründner (Fürsorgerentner) hatten der täglichen Messe beizuwohnen und in ihre Gebete die Bitten für den Kaiser und das kaiserliche Haus einzuschließen. Der Spitalsmeister musste die Bewohner zum Gebet anhalten, auch auf mehrmalige Kommunion achten und „dass diese als rechte Christgläubige allzeit in der Furcht Gottes stehen“.

 

Die Verköstigung der Pfründner war nicht schlecht, sie erhielten alle Fleischtage ein Pfund Rindfleisch und 2 Pfund Brot, an Feiertagen und am Kommuniontag ein Seidel Wein; außerdem erhielten sie jährlich 2 Paar Schuhe und alle zwei Jahre ein „Kleid“.

 

Bis zur Mitte des 16. Jahrhunderts waren die Salzarbeiter im Alter lediglich auf die Versorgung im Salinenspital zu Hallstatt angewiesen, eine Provision (Gnadenpension) aus landesfürstlichen Mitteln empfingen sie erst nach dem zweiten Reformationslibell ab 1563.

 

Um 1593 betrug die Provision eines abgetanen Arbeiters wöchentlich 15 bis 30 Kreuzer, doch wurden viele auch nur mit einer einmaligen Gnadengabe von 10 bis 12 Gulden abgefertigt und im Übrigen auf die Spitalverpflegung verwiesen.

Die Höhe aller Gaben richtete sich nach dem Lohn, der Dienstzeit und dem Verhalten.

 

Diese Übung dauerte auch im 17. Jahrhundert fort, da Provisionen doch bloße Gnadengesuche blieben und an kein bestimmtes Ausmaß gebunden waren. Die geringe Altersrente, die für Witwen bloß die Hälfte der Provision des Mannes war, reichte in Zeiten der Teuerung kaum zur Fristung des nackten Lebens aus, weshalb die Hofkammer dann besonders bedürftigen Arbeitern und ihren Witwen neben der Provision noch einmalige Gnadengelder in wechselnder Höhe als Notstandsaushilfe bewilligte.

 

Die im Privatdienst der Fertiger, Holzmeister und Schiffwerker stehenden Arbeiter waren vom Provisionsgenuss ausgeschlossen. Außerhalb des Versorgungsrechtes stehenden Personen konnte bei besonderer Bedürftigkeit und Würdigkeit gnadenhalber eine Unterstützung durch das Salzamt bewilligt werden.

 

Die den unmittelbar im Dienste des Salzamtes stehenden Arbeitern zukommende Altersrente war unter gewissen Voraussetzungen fast schon zu einem Glücksspiel geworden. Vor allem musste der um die Provision ansuchende Arbeiter nach Feststellung des Salinenphysikus dauernd arbeitsunfähig sein und in seinem dienstlichen Verhalten keinen Anlass zur Klage gegeben haben. Doch konnte die Provision auch aus anderen Gründen verweigert werden.

 

1751 entzog der Salzamtmann Sternbach einem Arbeiter die Provision „wegen des den Beamten mit der unterlassenen Abziehung des Hutes nicht erwiesenen Respektes“.

 

Ein unbestrittenes Recht auf die Provision besaßen die Bediensteten selbst im Jahre 1792 noch nicht. Die Hofkammer erklärte damals Provisionen in der Höhe des letzten Aktivgehaltes „als eine allerhöchste Gnade, welche nicht bloß eine zurückgelegte lange Dienstzeit, sondern, was das Wesentlichste ist, gute und nützlich geleistete Dienste und daher sich erworbene ausgezeichnete Verdienste voraussetzt“. 

 

In jedem Vierteljahr fanden Vorstellungen der Provisionisten statt, auch jener, die das 40. Dienstjahr zurückgelegt hatten und den Anspruch auf den vollen Lohn als Provision besaßen, bei welchen sie der Kammergutphysikus untersuchen musste, ob sie tatsächlich zu keiner, auch leichter Arbeit fähig waren.

 

Der Provisionsanspruch begann gemäß der Resolution vom 8. Februar 1770 nach vollendeten, vom 15. Lebensjahr an gezählten 8 Dienstjahren und erreichte den vollen Lohn als Höchstausmaß mit dem zurückgelegten 40. Dienstjahre. Vor dem 8. Dienstjahr arbeitsunfähig gewordene Arbeiter erhielten in der Regel nur eine Abfertigung in der Höhe eines Jahreslohnes.

 

Mit dem Verlassen der Arbeit verloren die Provisionisten jedoch auch den Anspruch auf das Hofkorn. Es kam daher nicht selten vor, und wurde von der Hofkammer aus Einsparungsgründen sogar gefördert, dass Arbeiter auch nach dem 40. Dienstjahr als „Halbjubilanten“ weiter im Werk blieben und dann um den früheren Lohn leichtere Verrichtungen besorgen mussten.

 

Die Provisionen von Witwen und Waisen kamen fast immer mit einer Aufbesserung zur Auszahlung, weil die überaus geringen Provisionsbeiträge zum Lebensunterhalt doch nicht genügt hätten. Entweder bewilligte die Hofkammer eine Erhöhung der normalmäßigen Provision oder sie fügten derselben ein wöchentliches Almosen an.

 

Vaterlose Waisen bekamen auch eine wöchentliche Provision und häufig eine vierteljährliche Beihilfe. Der Bezug endete mit dem 12., von 1800 an mit dem 14. Lebensjahr. Uneheliche Kinder erlangten die Provisionsfähigkeit erst durch die nachträgliche Verehelichung der Eltern, sonst hatte die Grundherrschaft für sie zu sorgen.

 

Die Hofkammer verlangte zur Jubilation (Pensionierung) den Nachweis der ärztlichen Arbeitsunfähigkeit durch ein Zeugnis, das neben dem zuständigen Arzt auch vom Kreisphysikus zu unterfertigen war. Der Hofkammer genügten 40 Dienstjahre zur Jubilation nicht.

 

Als Ursachen der Erwerbsunfähigkeit bezeichneten die Salinenärzte häufig Blödsinn, aber auch Nervenschwäche, Lähmung, Taubstummheit, Lungensucht, Fallsucht, Kropf, Verkrüppelung und Skrofeln (Drüsenerkrankung). Die erschreckende Häufigkeit dieser körperlichen Mängel war eine Folge recht bedenklicher Degenerationserscheinungen. Diese waren zum Großteil gewiss Nachwirkungen der Hungerjahre in der Franzosenzeit. Außerdem trugen dabei wohl auch die unzweckmäßige und abwechslungsarme Nahrung und die zur Inzucht führende Abgeschlossenheit des Kammergutes Mitschuld. Der besonders in Hallstatt weit verbreitete Kretinismus verschwand erst zu Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts. Böse Zungen hatten einst behauptet, der Bau der Eisenbahn in den Siebzigerjahren des 19. Jahrhunderts, der viel fremdes Mannsvolk ins Land brachte, hätte den Nachwuchs günstig beeinflusst.

 

Provisionisten im Alter von 60 bis 65 Jahren, die der Physikus noch zu leichteren Arbeiten geeignet fand, waren verpflichtet, im Vierteljahr 13 bis 39, wöchentlich also 1 - 3 Schichten unentgeltlich zu verfahren und sich zu Straßenarbeiten, zum Schneeschaufeln, Sandgewinnen, Lichtholzerzeugen, Putzen der Arbeitsgezähe, Geimeln (Hausbesorger im Knappenhaus) und anderen Arbeiten verwenden zu lassen.

 

Wegen dem geringen Wert der Provisionistenarbeit, dem Unwillen, mit der sie geleistet wurde und der schwerfälligen Überwachung durch die Verwesämter hob das Ministerium 1849 die Jubilantenschichten wieder ersatzlos auf.

 

Die Grundlage für die Bemessung der wöchentlichen Provisionen stammte aus dem Jahr 1768. Provisionen so geringen Ausmaßes genügten im 19. Jahrhundert natürlich nicht mehr, die Hofkammer hielt aber trotzdem am System fest und behalf sich, wie bei den Löhnen, auch hier wieder mit Provisorien, Teuerungszuschüssen und vierteljährlichen Beihilfen.

 

Eine Witwe erwarb erst nach dem achten Dienstjahr ihres Mannes den Anspruch auf die normale Provision. War ihr Mann früher gestorben, so gebührte ihr nur eine einmalige Abfertigung in der Höhe seines letzten, vierteljährigen Lohnes. Nur wenn der Arbeiter vor Erreichung des achten Dienstjahres tödlich verunglückte, bewilligte die Hofkammer der Witwe die einfache Provision.

 

Das Salinenspital in Hallstatt hatte durch den Staatsbankrot im Jahre 1811 fast sein ganzes in Wertpapieren angelegtes Vermögen eingebüßt und dann nicht mehr die Mittel, die ihm zufallenden Verpflichtungen zu erfüllen. Durch größte Einschränkung der Ausgaben und die Unterstützung der Hofkammer konnte es sich jedoch allmählich wieder soweit erholen, um fürs erste die satzungsgemäße Anzahl von Pfründnern zu verpflegen und die Betriebskosten zu decken. 1847 war das Spitalsvermögen schon so gekräftigt, dass die volle Anzahl von 24 Pfründnern verpflegt und außerdem an 39 Waisen Erziehungsbeihilfen sowie in 95 Fällen Unterstützungen im Gesamtbetrage von 1300 Gulden ausbezahlt werden konnten.

 

Das Heiligen Geist Spital in Aussee diente, wie das Salinenspital zu Hallstatt, zur Aufnahme und Verpflegung armer, abgedienter kaiserlicher Arbeiter, ihrer Witwen und Waisen, zu welchem Zweck es vom Salzamt jährlich 800 Gulden empfing. 1815 wohnten 15 Pfründner im Spital.

 

Das Pfründnerhaus (Armenhaus) in Ischl war keine landesfürstliche Anstalt, sondern Eigentum der Marktgemeinde, hatte aber die Verpflichtung, acht Salinenangehörige aufzunehmen und überdies zwei Zimmer zur Unterbringung schwer erkrankter Arbeiter ständig bereit zu halten. Im Jahre 1844 gedachte die Gemeinde das zwischen dem Posthof und dem Theater, also in der lebhaftesten und am meisten besuchten Gegend des Badeortes gelegene Pfründnerhaus zu räumen und dafür in einer ruhigeren Gegend einen Ersatzbau zu schaffen. Der Postmeister Franz Koch erklärte sich bereit, gegen Überlassung des alten Pfründnerhauses einen im Osten des Marktes gelegenen Baugrund anzukaufen und darauf das neue Pfründnerhaus auf seine Kosten zu erbauen.

 

 

Verwendete Quellen:

Carl Schraml „Das oberösterreichische Salinenwesen vom Beginne des 16. Bis zur Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts“, Wien 1932

Carl Schraml „Das oberösterreichische Salinenwesen von 1750 bis zur Zeit nach den Franzosenkriegen“, Wien 1934

Carl Schraml „Das oberösterreichische Salinenwesen von 1818 bis zum Ende des Salzamtes 1850“, Wien 1936

Ischler Heimatverein „Bad Ischl Heimatbuch 2004“, Bad Ischl 2004

„Bergbau – Alltag und Identität der Dürrnberger Bergleute und Halleiner Salinenarbeiter“, Salzburger Beiträge zur Volkskunde, Salzburg, 1998