top of page

financial support

In mining, extraction is understood as the loading activity and the removal of mined rock from the extraction point (“excavation extraction”) via driven routes (“transportation”) or shafts (“shaft extraction”) to the surface. In addition to the conveyance of materials, the "man's journey" developed over time, which transports the miners to their underground workplaces.

 

Funding in prehistoric times:

From primeval to medieval mining, the mined rock was transported to the surface with troughs, baskets or disk chests.

The carrying sacks found in the prehistoric Hallstatt salt mine are particularly famous. With the more than 3000 year old sacks, up to 30 kg of salt could be carried on the back with day straps. A short stick, which was attached to the upper part of the sack and had to be held when carrying it, led over the left shoulder. The sacks were emptied to the side quickly and effortlessly by releasing the stick.

1.jpg

Figure 1: Prehistoric carrying bag, Hallstatt salt mine, Internet

Funding with Spurnagelhunten:

In the 16th century, small, wooden chests on four wheels ("pit haulers") were introduced to increase the conveying capacity. The first Hunte consisted of a simple, iron-bound wooden box with a capacity of about 150 liters.

2.jpg

 Figure 2: Spurnagelhunt, Agricola, 1556, Internet

There were two different versions of the first hunts: the "German" and the "Hungarian mine hunt". The German design had four wheels of equal size, whereas the front wheels of the Hungarian mine hunt were smaller, meaning that the car's center of gravity was in front of the rear wheels. This had the advantage that the Hunt could be easily lifted at the front by pressing down a rear handle bar, so that it only had to be pushed on the rear wheels in curves, saving energy.

The old salt mining tunnels all had a large outward gradient, mostly 2 to 5.5%.

This large gradient was mainly chosen because of the high frictional resistance of the conveying equipment and for the good drainage of water and brine, because the cross-sections of the wooden tubes were only 80 to 100 mm in diameter.

3.jpg

Figure 3: Hungarian track nail hunt, Salina manipulation description, 1807 – 1815, Archiv Salinen Austria

4.jpg

Figure 4: Track nail hunt for log transport, description of saline manipulation, 1807 – 1815, archive Salinen Austria

5.jpg

Figure 5: Laist conveyance with Spurnagelhunten, Kefer, 1836, Archiv Salinen Austria

In the beginning, the pit trains were moved on the mere sole of the tunnel. In order to make this strenuous work easier, wooden rails (“rods”) were laid on the floor from the middle of the 16th century. The poles were two thick boards mounted lying together, separated by a narrow, central longitudinal gap about 4 cm wide. This longitudinal gap served as a guide for the guide pin ("track nail") attached to the bottom of the hunt. The toe pin mounted between the front wheels of the Hunted protruded into the gap and thus prevented the Hunted from swerving sideways from the linkage boards.

The wooden track nail carts used in salt mining had a capacity of 4 to 5 Kbfs. (0.13 to 0.16 m³). The toe pin was fitted with a friction roller; the wheels consisted of wooden discs, the rims of which were shod with an iron band. One reason given for the steeply inclined position of the Hunte box and the resulting unevenness of the wheels was that the Hunte stomp needed to bend down less with the same capacity of the vessel.

The hunt also got its name from the track nail. Because when the track spike drove in front of it in the rut, there was a howling noise not unlike a dog.

6.jpg

Figure 6: Track nail hunt on rods, Kefer, 1836, Archiv Salinen Austria

7.jpg

Figure 7: Emptying the track nail conveyor at the lintel, Kefer, 1836, Archiv Salinen Austria

In 1748, the more important hairpin bends of the Ischler Salzberg were provided with new pole rides, which were not shod with iron but cut from beech wood for greater durability. As a result, the conveying capacity increased significantly.

8.jpg

Figure 8: Rod switch, Kefer, 1836, Archive Salinen Austria

The Spurnail railways could only be used with small trains and low speeds. Nevertheless, they survived in the narrow and low water places of the salt mountains until the 20th century. They are still in use today at the Bräunerberg tunnel in Altaussee.

Bild9.jpg

Figure 9:  Track nail hunt on rods, Breunerberg - tunnel, Altaussee salt mine, 1954, archive Salinen Austria

Bild10.jpg

Figure 10: Track nail hunt, Museum Bad Aussee, Bartos archive

Bild11.jpg

Figure 11: Modern Spurnagelhunte, Breunerberg tunnel, Altaussee salt mine, 1993, Kranabitl archive

Hallein carts:

In addition to these track nail hoists, the Salzbergen also used a two-wheeled cart, the so-called Halleiner Karren, which required its own track on routes, but could be handled with great ease by workers on the bare, jammed and trampled sole.

Bild12.jpg

Figure 12; Halleiner Karren, Dürrnberg salt mine, 1902, archive Salinen Austria

The cart initially used in Hallein consisted of a kind of frame made of two long pieces of wood, which were held together by tenoned bars. The cart was bumped against a transverse handwood. A fixed iron axle was attached to its own latch under the box's center of gravity. Attached to it were two light wheels made in the manner of wagon wheels, which were 18'' (0.47 m) apart. The boxes held 4 to 5 hundredweight (224 - 280 kg) of Laist or 6 to 7 hundredweight (336 - 392 kg) of rock salt, it was open at the front and instead of the front wall it was closed by a template board, which was removed before falling. When falling, the cart was tilted forward accordingly. The wheels were not equipped with brakes, but on steep places the conveyor helped himself by standing on the handwood or putting a bolt through the wheels.

For this cart, the track on the routes consisted of long trees, the "basic timbers" on which the transverse 1 ½ '' (4.0 cm) thick shutters, the "Tretholze" lay, which were nailed down by track slats, the "Joints". , held to the base timbers. The joists formed a track width of 22'' (0.58 m), within which the wheels ran as with angle rails.

The track for the Hallein carts was very wood-eating, without the conveying load being significantly greater than with a well-equipped hunt run. The advantage of the Hallein carts, however, was that they were very mobile on the mere worker's sole, as they could easily be rotated in a circle when standing on the same point.

Bild13.jpg

Figure 13: Halleiner Karren, used for cleaning the works, Kefer, 1836, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild14.jpg

Figure 14: Halleiner carts, Leopold tunnels, salt mines in Bad Ischl, Feichtinger archives

English Hunte:

At the beginning of the 19th century, cast-iron wheels with "wheel flanges" (bulges on the inside of the wheels) came to Austria from England. For the "English linkage" it was necessary that correspondingly straight and level rails were laid on which the Hunte ran. In order to be able to ride on the existing wooden rails with such wheels, flat bars were initially attached to the tops of the posts. The wooden rails were not replaced by rolled iron rails until the middle of the 19th century.

Due to the lower rolling resistance of the new Hunte on rails, the conveying capacity could be significantly increased, which is why the "English tram" together with the driveway sloped evenly and slightly  Tunnels and routes interspersed.

In 1841 the first railway of the Ischler Salzberg was built on the Maria Theresia main shaft. For this purpose, however, the slope of the main shaft had to be compensated for by an expensive floor regulation in order to reduce the ascent for the large iron trains moving inwards. The wagons had cast-iron spoked wheels with a diameter of 14 inches (368 mm) and a capacity of four previous Hunten. The gauge was 23 Vienna inches (605 mm). With a level gradient, the filled Hunte slowly rolled out by themselves, the empty Hunte could be pushed inwards by a man ("Huntstosser").

The hauls were emptied above ground near the mouth of the tunnel on shoring scaffolding, which was erected like a grate over the channel of the streams flowing by.

In this way, the extraction of the exhausted Haselgebirge sludge (“Werklaist”), which accumulated in large quantities during the cleaning of the poor leaching works of the Ischler Salzberg, could be clearly rationalized.

Bild15.jpg

Figure 15: English giant hunt, around 1840, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild16.jpg

Figure 16: English hunt, Berchtesgaden salt mine, around 1850, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild17.jpg

Figure 17: English Hunt, 1889, Archiv Salinen Austria

Pit hoist with wooden body:

For more than 100 years, the Grubenhunt type with spoked wheels, rigid axles and iron-clad wooden body was used in Austrian salt mines. This Hunte had an unladen weight of 300 kg, a capacity of around 0.3 m³ and a total weight of up to 1,300 kg when loaded. The track width was 500 mm. More than 100 of these trains were in use at the Bad Ischl salt mine.

Bild18.jpg

Figure 18: Mining wagons at the Bad Ischl salt mine, 1906, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild19.jpg

Figure 19: Tram car with wooden body, 1940, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild20.jpg

Figure 20: Conveyor, cross section Scharf - and Riethaler - Kehr, Maria Theresia tunnel, 1932, archive Salinen Austria

Bild21.jpg

Figure 21: Hunt with wooden body, around 1950, Herbert Fritz Archive

Bild22.jpg

Figure 22: Hunt with wooden structure, heritage tunnel, salt mine Bad Ischl, 2013, Bartos archive

Mine hoist with steel body:

It was only in the 1980s that 750 liter capacity steel-body mine trucks were introduced. If you flip a lever on these hounds, they tilt to the side and the debris falls out of the wagon body by itself. Filled Hounds are very seldom seen above ground in the salt mines, since the saline heaps have to be dumped underground in old mining cavities for environmental reasons.

Bild23.jpg

Figure 23: Mine hunt with steel structure, Erbstollen, salt mine Bad Ischl, 2013, Bartos archive

Bild24.jpg

Figure 24: Mine hunt with steel structure, Erbstollen, Altaussee salt mine, 2010, Bartos archive

pit locomotives:

Mine locomotive “Barabara”:

The first electric mine locomotive in Austria, "Barbara", was built in 1897 by Siemens § Halske based on a design by Prof. Wendelin from the Montanistische Hochschule Leoben. Before it was taken out of service, the locomotive was used for transporting rock salt in the Ferdinandberg tunnel for 13 years and covered no fewer than 83,000 km in those years. The power was 2 hp, the operating weight was 700 kg and the operating voltage was 220 V DC.

Bild25.png

Figure 25: "Barbara" mine locomotive, Altaussee salt mine, Herbert Fritz archive

Bild26.jpg

Figure 26: Barbara mine locomotive, Altaussee salt mine, 1898, Herbert Fritz archive

Bild27.jpg

Figure 27: Mine locomotive Barbara, foreign route, Altaussee salt mine, 2010, Bartos archive

Mine locomotives in the Bad Ischl salt mine:

"Ruhrthaler" motor locomotive:

The first motor locomotive for the Bad Ischl salt mine was built by the Ruhrthaler locomotive factory, Schwarz and Dykerhoff in Muellheim an der Ruhr, to drive the Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen and put into operation in 1909. The 4-ton petrol locomotive with a maximum engine power of 14 hp had a pulling power of 30 tons on a horizontal track; 12.5 t at a gradient of 1 per thousand. The maximum driving speed was 6 km/h. Power was transmitted from the engine to the wheels via a drive chain. The fuel consumption was around 4 l/h. The length over the buffers was approx. 2.8 m, the height over the upper edge of the rails on the driver's roof was approx. 1.75 m and the width of the locomotive was 0.76 m.  It was built with a wheelbase of 900 mm for a track width of 500 mm.

Since petrol exhaust gases are poisonous due to the high CO content, the locomotive was not very popular with the staff. Nevertheless, after several modifications, it remained in operation until 1954. Since 1999 the locomotive has stood as a memorial in front of the building of the producer in Moers.

Bild28.jpg

Figure 28: Motor locomotive, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, around 1910, Archive Salinen Austria

Bild29.jpg

Figure 29: Motor locomotive, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, around 1930, Archive Salinen Austria

Bild30.jpg

Figure 30: Motor locomotive, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, around 1925, Archive Salinen Austria

Bild31.jpg

Motor locomotive, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, around 1925, Archive Salinen Austria

battery locomotives:

Around 1930, 3 battery locomotives were purchased in the Bad Ischl salt mine. Two of the 17 kW locomotives powered by electric motors were supplied by AEG and one by Bartz. These zero-emission, low-maintenance locomotives made mine operations much easier.

Bild32.jpg

Figure 31: Battery locomotive, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, around 1940, Bartos archives

Bild33.jpg

Figure 32: Battery locomotive, art goods transport, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, 1944, archive Salinen Austria

Bild34.jpg

Figure 33: AEG battery locomotive, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, 1987, Herbert Fritz archive

 In 1964 another battery locomotive of the type Ez 10 was purchased by the Jung Jungendthal locomotive factory. This locomotive was rebuilt and modernized in the 1990s. Finally, in 1990, the last battery locomotive to be installed at the salt mine in Bad Ischl was a type DGL 8.4 from ELIN. delivered, put into operation.

Bild35.jpg

Figure 34: Battery locomotive Jung, type plan, 1964, Herbert Fritz archive

Bild36.jpg

Figure 35: Young battery locomotive, heap fall, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, 1987, Herbert Fritz archive

Bild37.jpg

Figure 36: Battery locomotives Jung and Elin, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, 1996, Herbert Fritz archive

Bild38.jpg

Figure 37: Battery locomotive Elin, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, 2013, Bartos archive

Bild39.jpg

Illustration 38 : Battery locomotive Elin, charging station, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, 2013, Bartos archive

Bild40.jpg

Figure 39: Battery locomotive Elin, central shaft station, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, 2013, Bartos archive

diesel locomotives:

During the main inspection in 1948, it was decided to build a new blind shaft in the stable rock to connect the mining horizons between the Maria Theresia and Franz Josef Erbstollen. For this purpose, the Maria Theresia tunnel was torn down to a profile suitable for locomotive traffic and a 23 hp diesel locomotive from the Ruhrthaler company with a service weight of 5.3 t was purchased in winter 1951.

The length over the buffers of the diesel locomotive type GZ 22 was approx. 3.15 m, the height above the upper edge of the rails on the driver's roof was approx. 1.4 m and the width of the locomotive was 0.78 m.  It was built with a wheelbase of 840 mm for a track width of 500 mm.

A toothed gearbox was flanged directly to the diesel engine. This allowed the diesel locomotive to drive forwards and backwards in 3 speed stages at 3.7 - 6 - 10.8 km/h. The two wheelsets were driven by a drive chain. The axles were mounted in a roller bearing and the frame was sprung with hardened steel leaf springs. The locomotive's braking system consisted of a hand brake acting on all four wheels and a sand container that was operated by hand. The harmful diesel exhaust gases were cleaned in a flue gas scrubber.

Bild41.jpg

Figure 40: Ruhrthal diesel locomotive GZ 22, type plan, 1951, Herbert Fritz archive

Bild42.jpg

Figure 41: Ruhrthal diesel locomotive, Empress Maria Theresia Stollen, 1990, Herbert Fritz archive

In 1955, the new guided path in the Maria Theresia tunnel was put into operation. For the entrance to visitors, "stranger cars" were built, which were pushed in by the Ruhrthaler diesel locomotive around 1,450 m to the station at the central shaft in the Maria Theresia tunnel. Tourist carriages are 4-wheeled hounds with foot and hand brakes, on which up to 10 people per carriage could sit astride a seat board. Lamp holders are attached to the front and rear of the foreign caravans. Each foreign car was equipped with a foot and hand brake. A passenger train pulled by the Ruhrthaler diesel locomotive type GZ 22 could consist of a maximum of 6 foreign cars.

Bild43.jpg

Figure 42: Ruhrthal diesel locomotive, group of visitors, Empress Maria Theresia Stollen, around 1974, Kranabitl archive

Bild44.jpg

Figure 43: Ruhrthal diesel locomotive, group of visitors, Empress Maria Theresia Stollen, around 1955, Archive Salinen Austria

Bild45.jpg

Figure 44: Ruhrthal diesel locomotive, group of visitors, Empress Maria Theresia Stollen, around 1980, Herbert Fritz archive

In 1982, a Jenbacher DH 40 G diesel locomotive with 40 hp was purchased to replace the Ruhrthaler locomotive. The new diesel locomotive could carry up to 7 cars per train.

Bild46.jpg

Figure 45: Jenbacher diesel locomotive DH 40 G, type plan, 1982, Herbert Fritz archive

Screenshot 2020-12-26 161649.jpg

Figure 46: Jenbacher diesel locomotive, entrance to Empress Maria Theresia Stollen, 1990, Herbert Fritz archive

Bild48.jpg

Figure 47: Ruhrthaler and Jenbacher diesel locomotive, Empress Maria Theresia Stollen, 1990, Herbert Fritz archive

Bild49.jpg

Figure 48: Jenbacher diesel locomotive, foreigners entering, Empress Maria Theresia tunnel, around 1990, Kranabitl archive

Bild50.jpg

Figure 49: Jenbacher diesel locomotive, last journey by the mine staff from Perneck, 1989, Nussbaumer archives

The Ruhrthaler diesel locomotive was parked after the show mine operation at the Salzberg Bad Ischl was closed in 2000. In 2009 it was available for purchase from Erich Ramsauer. After a thorough renovation, the fully functional locomotive was set up with a foreign wagon in Erich Ramsauer's garden. It can be viewed at point 25 of the Via Salis circuit.

Bild51.jpg

Figure 50: Ruhrthaler diesel locomotive with foreign cars, showroom 25 Via Salis Rundweg, IGM archive

Sources used:

Carl Schraml "The Upper Austrian salt works from the beginning of the 16th to the middle of the 18th century", Vienna 1932

Carl Schraml "The Upper Austrian Salt Works from 1750 to the time after the French Wars", Vienna 1934

Carl Schraml "The Upper Austrian Salt Works from 1818 to the end of the Salt Office in 1850", Vienna 1936

August Aigner "Salt mining in the Austrian Alps", Berg- und Hüttenmännisches yearbook, Vienna 1892

Robert Stibich "Mine Hunt and Knappenross", Brixlegg, 2011

August Huysen "Salt Mining and Saline Operation in Austria, Styria and Salzburg", Berlin 1854

Anton Schauenstein, "Denkbuch des Österreichischen Berg- und Hüttenwesen", Vienna 1873

Herbert Fritz "Salt mines in the Salzkammergut and their mine railways", Vienna 2015  

bottom of page

Förderung

Unter Förderung versteht man im Bergbau die Verladetätigkeit und den Abtransport von abgebautem Gestein von der Gewinnungsstelle („Abbauförderung“), über vorgetriebene Strecken („Streckenförderung“) bzw. Schächte („Schachtförderung“) an die Tagesoberfläche. Neben der Materialförderung entwickelte sich mit der Zeit die „Mannsfahrt“, welche die Bergleute zu deren untertägigen Arbeitsplätzen befördert.

 

Förderung in prähistorischer Zeit:

Vom urzeitlichen bis zum mittelalterlichen Bergbau wurde das abgebaute Gestein mit Trögen, Körben oder Scheibtruhen nach ober Tage gefördert.

Besonders berühmt sind die im prähistorischen Salzbergbau Hallstatt gefundenen Tragsäcke. Mit den gut 3000 Jahre alten Säcken konnten mit Tagegurten bis zu 30 kg Salz am Rücken getragen werden. Über die linke Schulter führte ein kurzer Knüppel, der am Oberteil des Sackes befestigt war und beim Tragen festgehalten werden musste. Das seitliche Entleeren der Säcke erfolgte rasch und mühelos durch Loslassen des Knüppels.

1.jpg

Abbildung 1: Prähistorischer Tragsack, Salzbergbau Hallstatt, Internet

Förderung mit Spurnagelhunten:

Im 16. Jh. führte man zur Erhöhung der Förderleistung kleine, hölzerne Truhen auf vier Rädern („Grubenhunte“) ein. Die ersten Hunte bestanden aus einem einfachen, eisenbeschlagenen Holzkasten mit etwa 150 Liter Inhalt.

2.jpg

 Abbildung 2: Spurnagelhunt, Agricola, 1556, Internet

Unter den ersten Hunten gab es zwei verschiedene Ausführungen: den „Deutschen“ und den „Ungarischen Grubenhunt“. Die deutsche Bauart hatte vier gleich große Räder, wohingegen beim Ungarischen Grubenhunt die Vorderräder kleiner waren und dadurch der Schwerpunkt des Wagens vor den Hinterrädern lag. Dies hatte den Vorteil, dass man den Hunt durch das Niederdrücken einer hinteren Griffstange vorne leicht anheben konnte und ihn so kräftesparend in Kurven nur auf den Hinterrädern schieben musste.

Die alten Salzbergbaustollen hatten durchwegs ein großes Gefälle nach außen, meist 2 bis 5,5 %.

Dieses große Gefälle wurde hauptsächlich wegen der großen Reibungswiderstände der Fördereinrichtungen und zur guten Ableitung des Wassers und der Sole gewählt, weil die Rohrquerschnitte der hölzernen Röhren nur 80 bis 100 mm Durchmesser hatten.

3.jpg

Abbildung 3: Ungarischer Spurnagelhunt, Salinen Manipulationsbeschreibung, 1807 – 1815, Archiv Salinen Austria

4.jpg

Abbildung 4: Spurnagelhunt für Langholztransport, Salinen Manipulationsbeschreibung, 1807 – 1815, Archiv Salinen Austria

5.jpg

Abbildung 5: Laistförderung mit Spurnagelhunten, Kefer, 1836, Archiv Salinen Austria

Anfangs wurden die Grubenhunte auf der bloßen Stollensohle verschoben. Um diese Kräfte raubende Arbeit zu erleichtern, verlegte man ab der Mitte des 16. Jh. auf der Sohle hölzerne Gleise („Gestänge“). Die Gestänge waren zwei beisammen liegend montierte, dicke Bretter, getrennt durch einen schmalen, etwa 4 cm breiten, mittigen Längsspalt. Dieser Längsspalt diente als Führung für den am Boden des Huntes befestigten Führungszapfen („Spurnagel“). Der zwischen den Vorderrädern des Huntes montierte Spurnagel ragte in den Spalt hinein und verhinderte so ein seitliches Ausbrechen des Huntes von den Gestänge-Brettern.

Die im Salzbergbau verwendeten hölzernen Spurnagelhunte hatten einen Inhalt von 4 bis 5 Kbfs. (0,13 bis 0,16 m³). Der Spurnagel war mit einer Friktionsrolle versehen; die Räder bestanden aus hölzernen Scheiben, deren Felgen mit einem Eisenband beschlagen waren. Als einen Grund für die stark geneigte Stellung des Huntekastens und die dadurch bedingte Ungleichheit der Räder gab man an, dass sich bei gleicher Kapazität des Gefäßes der Huntestößer weniger zu bücken braucht.

Durch den Spurnagel kam der Hunt auch zu seinem Namen. Denn wenn der Spurnagel in der Spurrinne vor sich hinfuhr, kam es zu einem jaulenden Geräusch, das einem Hund nicht unähnlich war.

6.jpg

Abbildung 6: Spurnagelhunt auf Gestänge, Kefer, 1836, Archiv Salinen Austria

7.jpg

Abbildung 7: Entleerung der Spurnagelhunte am Sturzgerüst, Kefer, 1836, Archiv Salinen Austria

1748 wurden die wichtigeren Kehren des Ischler Salzberges mit neuen Gestängefahrten versehen, die zwar nicht mit Eisen beschlagen, zur größeren Dauerhaftigkeit aber aus Buchenholz geschnitten waren. Dadurch stieg die Förderleistung bedeutend an.

8.jpg

Abbildung 8: Gestängeweiche, Kefer, 1836, Archiv Salinen Austria

Die Spurnagelbahnen konnten nur mit kleinen Hunten und geringer Geschwindigkeit befahren werden. Trotzdem haben sie sich in den engen und niedrigen Wasserorten der Salzberge bis ins 20. Jh. erhalten. Am Bräunerbergstollen in Altaussee stehen sie sogar noch heute in Verwendung.

Bild9.jpg

Abbildung 9:  Spurnagelhunt auf Gestänge, Breunerberg - Stollen, Salzbergbau Altaussee, 1954, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild10.jpg

Abbildung 10: Spurnagelhunt, Museum Bad Aussee, Archiv Bartos

Bild11.jpg

Abbildung 11: Moderne Spurnagelhunte, Breunerberg – Stollen, Salzbergbau Altaussee, 1993, Archiv Kranabitl

Halleiner Karren:

Außer diesen Spurnagelhunten stand bei den Salzbergen auch ein zweirädriger Karren, der sogenannte Halleiner Karren, in Verwendung, der auf Strecken einer eigenen Bahn bedurfte, in Werkern aber auf der nackten, festgefahrenen und festgetretenen Sohle mit viel Leichtigkeit gehandhabt werden konnte.

Bild12.jpg

Abbildung 12; Halleiner Karren, Salzbergbau Dürrnberg, 1902, Archiv Salinen Austria

Der zunächst in Hallein angewendete Karren bestand aus einer Art Rahmen aus zwei langen Hölzern, die durch verzapfte Riegel zusammengehalten wurden. An einem querlaufenden Handholz wurde der Karren gestoßen. Eine fixe eiserne Achse wurde unter dem Schwerpunkt des Kastens an einem eigenen Riegel befestigt. An ihr steckten zwei nach Art der Wagenräder angefertigte leichte Räder, welche 18 ‘‘ (0,47 m) Abstand voneinander hatten. Die Kasten fasste 4 bis 5 Zentner (224 – 280 kg) Laist oder 6 bis 7 Zentner (336 – 392 kg) Steinsalz, er war vorne offen und statt der Vorderwand durch ein Vorlagebrett abgeschlossen, welches vor dem Stürzen entfernt wurde. Beim Stürzen wurde der Karren entsprechend nach vorne geneigt. Die Räder waren mit keiner Bremsung versehen, sondern an steilen Stellen half sich der Förderer damit, dass er sich auf das Handholz stellte, oder einen Riegel durch die Räder steckte.

Die Bahn auf den Strecken bestand für diesen Karren aus Langbäumen, den „Grundhölzern“, auf welchen der Quere 1 ½ ‘‘ (4,0 cm) starke Läden, die „Trethölzer“, lagen, die durch niedergenagelte Spurlatten, die „Setzhölzer“, an den Grundhölzern festgehalten wurden. Die Setzhölzer bildeten eine Spurweite von 22 ‘‘ (0,58 m), innerhalb welcher die Räder wie bei Winkelschienen liefen.

Die Bahn, für die Halleiner Karren, war sehr holzfressend, ohne dass die Förderlast wesentlich größer gewesen wäre als bei einem gut eingerichteten Huntelauf. Der Vorteil, der Halleiner Karren, lag aber darin, dass sie auf der bloßen Werkersohle sehr beweglich waren, indem sie sich auf demselben Punkt stehend leicht im Kreis drehen ließen.

Bild13.jpg

Abbildung 13: Halleiner Karren, Verwendung bei der Werkssäuberung, Kefer, 1836, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild14.jpg

Abbildung 14: Halleiner Karren, Leopold Stollen, Salzbergbau Bad Ischl, Archiv Feichtinger

Englische Hunte:

Aus England kamen zu Beginn des 19. Jh. gusseiserne Räder mit „Spurkränzen“ (Auswölbungen der Räder an deren Innenseite) nach Österreich. Für das „englische Gestänge“ war es erforderlich, dass entsprechend gerade und ebene Schienen verlegt wurden, auf denen die Hunte liefen. Damit man mit solchen Rädern die bereits bestehenden Holzschienen befahren konnte, befestigte man anfangs Flacheisen auf den Oberseiten der Pfosten. Erst Mitte des 19. Jh. wurden die Holzgleise durch gewalzte Eisenschienen ersetzt.

Durch den geringeren Rollwiderstand der neuen Hunte auf Schienen ließ sich die Förderleistung deutlich erhöhen, weshalb sich der „englische Förderwagen“ zusammen mit der Auffahrung gleichmäßig und gering geneigter  Stollen und Strecken durchsetzte.

1841 errichtete man auf der Maria Theresia Hauptschachtricht die erste Eisenbahn des Ischler Salzberges. Allerdings musste zu diesem Zwecke das Gefälle der Hauptschachtricht durch eine kostspielige Sohleregulierung vorher ausgeglichen werden, um das Ansteigen für die einwärts fahrenden großen Eisenhunte zu ermäßigen. Die Wägen besaßen gusseiserne Speichenräder von 14 Zoll Durchmesser (368 mm) und einen Fassungsraum von vier bisherigen Hunten. Die Spurweite betrug 23 Wiener Zoll (605 mm). Bei ausgeglichenem Gefälle rollten die gefüllten Hunte nunmehr von selbst langsam heraus, die leeren Hunte konnten von einem Mann („Huntstößer“) einwärts geschoben werden.

Die Hunte wurden ober Tage nahe der Stollenmundlöcher auf Sturzgerüsten entleert, welche man gleich einem Rost über dem Gerinne vorbeifließender Bäche errichtete.

So konnte die Förderung des ausgelaugten Haselgebirgsschlammes („Werklaist“), der bei der Säuberung der armen Laugwerke des Ischler Salzberges in großem Umfang anfiel, deutlich rationalisiert werden.

Bild15.jpg

Abbildung 15: Englischer Riesenhunt, um 1840, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild16.jpg

Abbildung 16: Englischer Hunt, Salzbergbau Berchtesgaden, um 1850, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild17.jpg

Abbildung 17: Englischer Hunt, 1889, Archiv Salinen Austria

Grubenhunte mit Holzaufbau:

Mehr als 100 Jahre lang war der Typ von Grubenhunt mit Speichenrädern, starren Achsen und eisenbeschlagenen Holzaufbau in den österreichischen Salzbergbauen im Einsatz. Diese Hunte hatten ein Eigengewicht im unbeladenen Zustand von 300 kg, einen Fassungsraum von rund 0,3 m³ und mit Beladung ein Gesamtgewicht von bis zu 1.300 kg. Die Spurweite betrug 500 mm. Am Salzbergbau Bad Ischl standen mehr als 100 dieser Hunte in Verwendung.

Bild18.jpg

Abbildung 18: Förderwägen am Salzbergbau Bad Ischl, 1906, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild19.jpg

Abbildung 19: Förderwagen mit Holzaufbau, 1940, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild20.jpg

Abbildung 20: Förderer, Streckenkreuz Scharf - und Riethaler - Kehr, Maria Theresia Stollen, 1932, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild21.jpg

Abbildung 21: Hunt mit Holzaufbau, um 1950, Archiv Herbert Fritz

Bild22.jpg

Abbildung 22: Hunt mit Holzaufbau, Erbstollen, Salzbergbau Bad Ischl, 2013, Archiv Bartos

Grubenhunte mit Stahlaufbau:

Erst in den 1980er Jahren wurden Grubenhunte mit Stahlaufbau und einem Fassungsvermögen von 750 l eingeführt. Wenn man bei diesen Hunten einen Hebel umlegt, neigen sie sich zur Seite und das Haufwerk fällt von selbst aus dem Wagenkasten. Gefüllte Hunte sieht man bei den Salzbergen sehr selten ober Tage, da das salzhaltige Haufwerk aus Umweltschutzgründen untertage in alten Abbauholräumen verkippt werden muss.

Bild23.jpg

Abbildung 23: Grubenhunt mit Stahlaufbau, Erbstollen, Salzbergbau Bad Ischl, 2013, Archiv Bartos

Bild24.jpg

Abbildung 24: Grubenhunt mit Stahlaufbau, Erbstollen, Salzbergbau Altaussee, 2010, Archiv Bartos

Grubenloks:

Grubenlok „Barabara“:

Die erste elektrische Grubenlok Österreichs, „Barbara“ wurde 1897 von Siemens § Halske nach einem Entwurf von Prof. Wendelin von der Montanistischen Hochschule Leoben gebaut. Die Lok war bis zur Außerdienststellung 13 Jahre lang im Ferdinandberg – Stollen für den Steinsalztransport unterwegs und legte in diesen Jahren nicht weniger als 83.000 km zurück. Die Leistung betrug 2 PS, das Dienstgewicht 700 kg und die Betriebsspannung 220 V Gleichstrom.

Bild25.png

Abbildung 25: Grubenlok "Barbara", Salzbergbau Altaussee, Archiv Herbert Fritz

Bild26.jpg

Abbildung 26: Grubenlok Barbara, Salzbergbau Altaussee, 1898, Archiv Herbert Fritz

Bild27.jpg

Abbildung 27: Grubenlok Barbara, Fremdenstrecke, Salzbergbau Altaussee, 2010, Archiv Bartos

Grubenloks im Salzbergbau Bad Ischl:

Motorlokomotive „Ruhrthaler“:

Von der Lokfabrik Ruhrthaler, Firma Schwarz und Dykerhoff in Müllheim an der Ruhr, wurde für den Vortrieb des Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen die erste Motorlok für den Salzbergbau Bad Ischl gebaut und 1909 in Betrieb genommen. Die 4 t schwere Benzin – Lokomotive mit max. 14 PS Motorleistung hatte auf horizontaler Bahn eine Zugleistung von 30 t; bei 1 Promille Steigung noch 12,5 t. Die maximale Fahrgeschwindigkeit betrug 6 km/h. Die Kraftübertragung vom Motor auf die Räder erfolgte über eine Antriebskette. Der Benzinverbrauch lag bei rund 4 l/h. Die Länge über Puffer betrug ca. 2,8 m, die Höhe über Schienenoberkante am Fahrerdach ca. 1,75 m und die Lokbreite 0,76 m.  Sie wurde bei einem Radstand von 900 mm für eine Spurweite von 500 mm gebaut.

Da Benzinabgase wegen des hohen CO – Gehaltes giftig sind, war die Lok beim Personal nicht sehr beliebt. Trotzdem blieb sie, nach mehreren Umbauten, bis 1954 in Betrieb. Seit 1999 steht die Lok als Denkmal vor dem Gebäude der Erzeugerfirma in Moers.

Bild28.jpg

Abbildung 28: Motorlokomotive, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, um 1910, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild29.jpg

Abbildung 29: Motorlokomotive, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, um 1930, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild30.jpg

Abbildung 30: Motorlokomotive, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, um 1925, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild31.jpg

Motorlokomotive, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, um 1925, Archiv Salinen Austria

Akkuloks:

Um 1930 wurden im Salzbergbau Bad Ischl 3 Akkuloks angeschafft. Zwei Stück der jeweils 17 kW starken, mit Elektromotoren betriebenen Loks lieferte die Firma AEG und eine die Firma Bartz. Diese abgaslosen, wartungsarmen Loks vereinfachten den Grubenbetrieb ganz wesentlich.

Bild32.jpg

Abbildung 31: Akkulok, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, um 1940, Archiv Bartos

Bild33.jpg

Abbildung 32: Akkulok, Kunstgütertransport, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, 1944, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild34.jpg

Abbildung 33: Akkulok AEG, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, 1987, Archiv Herbert Fritz

 1964 wurde von der Lokfabrik Jung Jungendthal eine weitere Akkulok der Type Ez 10 angeschafft. Diese Lok wurde in den 1990er Jahren umgebaut und modernisiert. 1990 wurde schließlich als letzte Akkulok am Salzbergbau Bad Ischl, eine von der Firma ELIN der Type DGL 8.4. gelieferte, in Betrieb genommen.

Bild35.jpg

Abbildung 34: Akkulok Jung, Typenplan, 1964, Archiv Herbert Fritz

Bild36.jpg

Abbildung 35: Akkulok Jung, Haldensturz, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, 1987, Archiv Herbert Fritz

Bild37.jpg

Abbildung 36: Akkuloks Jung und Elin, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, 1996, Archiv Herbert Fritz

Bild38.jpg

Abbildung 37: Akkulok Elin, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, 2013, Archiv Bartos

Bild39.jpg

Abbildung 38: Akkulok Elin, Ladestation, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, 2013, Archiv Bartos

Bild40.jpg

Abbildung 39: Akkulok Elin, Bahnhof Zentralschacht, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, 2013, Archiv Bartos

Dieselloks:

Bei der Hauptbefahrung 1948 beschloss man, einen neuen Blindschacht im standfesten Gebirge zur Verbindung der Abbauhorizonte zwischen dem Maria Theresia – und Franz Josef – Erbstollen zu errichten. Zu diesem Zweck wurde der Maria Theresia – Stollen auf ein für den Lokverkehr geeignetes Profil nachgerissen und im Winter 1951 eine 23 PS starke Diesellok der Fa. Ruhrthaler mit einem Dienstgewicht von 5,3 t angeschafft.

Die Länge über Puffer der Diesellok Type GZ 22 betrug ca. 3,15 m, die Höhe über Schienenoberkante am Fahrerdach ca. 1,4 m und die Lokbreite 0,78 m.  Sie wurde bei einem Radstand von 840 mm für eine Spurweite von 500 mm gebaut.

Am Dieselmotor war direkt ein Zahnschaltgetriebe angeflanscht. Dadurch konnte die Diesellok in 3 Geschwindigkeits – Schaltstufen mit 3,7 – 6 – 10,8 km/h vor- und rückwärts fahren. Der Antrieb der beiden Radsätze erfolgte über eine Antriebskette. Die Achsen waren in einem Wälzlager gelagert und der Rahmen über gehärtete Stahlblattfedern gefedert. Das Bremssystem der Lok bestand aus einer auf alle 4 Räder wirkenden Handbremse sowie aus einem von Hand zu bedienendem Sandbehälter. Die schädlichen Dieselabgase wurden in einer Rauchgaswäsche gereinigt.

Bild41.jpg

Abbildung 40: Ruhrthaler Diesellok GZ 22, Typenplan, 1951, Archiv Herbert Fritz

Bild42.jpg

Abbildung 41: Ruhrthaler Diesellok, Kaiserin Maria Theresia Stollen, 1990, Archiv Herbert Fritz

Im Jahre 1955 wurde der neue Führungsweg im Maria Theresia – Stollens in Betrieb genommen. Für die Besuchereinfahrt wurden „Fremdenwagen“ gebaut, die von der Ruhrthaler Diesellok rund 1.450 m bis zum Bahnhof bei der Zentralschachtanlage im Maria Theresia – Stollen hineingeschoben wurden. Fremdenwagen sind auf 4 Rädern stehende, mit Fuß- und Handbremsen versehene Hunte, auf denen bis zu 10 Personen pro Wagen rittlings auf einem Sitzbrett Platz nehmen konnten. Vorne und hinten sind auf den Fremdenwägen Halterungen für Lampen angebracht. Jeder Fremdenwagen war mit einer Fuß- und Handbremse versehen. Ein von der Ruhrthaler Diesellok der Type GZ 22 gezogener Personenzug durfte aus maximal 6 Fremdenwagen bestehen.

Bild43.jpg

Abbildung 42: Ruhrthaler Diesellok, Besuchergruppe, Kaiserin Maria Theresia Stollen, um 1974, Archiv Kranabitl

Bild44.jpg

Abbildung 43: Ruhrthaler Diesellok, Besuchergruppe, Kaiserin Maria Theresia Stollen, um 1955, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild45.jpg

Abbildung 44: Ruhrthaler Diesellok, Besuchergruppe, Kaiserin Maria Theresia Stollen, um 1980, Archiv Herbert Fritz

1982 wurde als Ersatz für die Ruhrthaler Lok eine Jenbacher Diesellok der Type DH 40 G mit 40 PS Leistung angeschafft. Die neue Diesellok konnte bis zu 7 Wagen pro Zug befördern.

Bild46.jpg

Abbildung 45: Jenbacher Diesellok DH 40 G, Typenplan, 1982, Archiv Herbert Fritz

Screenshot 2020-12-26 161649.jpg

Abbildung 46: Jenbacher Diesellok, Einfahrt Kaiserin Maria Theresia Stollen, 1990, Archiv Herbert Fritz

Bild48.jpg

Abbildung 47: Ruhrthaler und Jenbacher Diesellok, Kaiserin Maria Theresia Stollen, 1990, Archiv Herbert Fritz

Bild49.jpg

Abbildung 48: Jenbacher Diesellok, Fremdeneinfahrt, Kaiserin Maria Theresia Stollen, um 1990, Archiv Kranabitl

Bild50.jpg

Abbildung 49: Jenbacher Diesellok, letzte Anfahrt der Grubenbelegschaft aus Perneck, 1989, Archiv Nussbaumer

Die Ruhrthaler Diesellok war nach der Einstellung des Schaubergwerksbetriebes am Salzberg Bad Ischl im Jahre 2000 abgestellt. 2009 konnte sie von Erich Ramsauer käuflich erworben werden. Nach einer gründlichen Sanierung wurde die voll funktionsfähige Lok mit einem Fremdenwagen im Garten von Erich Ramsauer aufgestellt. Sie kann an der Schaustelle 25 des Via Salis Rundweges besichtigt werden.

Bild51.jpg

Abbildung 50: Ruhrthaler Diesellok mit Fremdenwagen, Schaustelle 25 Via Salis Rundweg, Archiv IGM

Verwendete Quellen:

Carl Schraml „Das oberösterreichische Salinenwesen vom Beginne des 16. Bis zur Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts“, Wien 1932

Carl Schraml „Das oberösterreichische Salinenwesen von 1750 bis in die Zeit nach den Franzosenkriegen“, Wien 1934

Carl Schraml „Das oberösterreichische Salinenwesen von 1818 bis zum Ende des Salzamtes 1850“, Wien 1936

August Aigner „Der Salzbergbau in den österreichischen Alpen“, Berg- und Hüttenmännisches Jahrbuch, Wien 1892

Robert Stibich „Grubenhunt und Knappenross“, Brixlegg, 2011

August Huysen „Salzbergbau und Salinenbetrieb in Österreich, Steiermark und Salzburg“, Berlin 1854

Anton Schauenstein „Denkbuch des österreichischen Berg- und Hüttenwesens“, Wien 1873

Herbert Fritz „Salzbergwerke im Salzkammergut und ihre Grubenbahnen“, Wien 2015