top of page

glow

The miner describes all the lighting equipment used underground as “lights”. Light plays an important role in mining, as it can have a significant impact on a miner's safety and work performance. For the miner himself, the luminosity of a lamp and its behavior under extreme conditions are crucial.

Prehistoric glowing filings:

Burning wood is one of the oldest forms of artificial lighting. Wooden torches had the disadvantage of heavy smoke development and poor burning behavior. The first lamp used underground was the "light span".

Remains of more than 3000 years old luminous filings are known from the Hallstatt salt mine. The miners used thin, split sticks of fir wood, about a meter long before they were ignited. The luminous shavings were burned off individually. When a chip burned down, a new one had to be lit. The smoke development in the mine must have been enormous due to the many permanently burning light sticks. Imprints of teeth on some of the staffs that have been found suggest that they were sometimes held with the teeth. As a rule, it can be assumed that the shavings were held by one person, perhaps a child, while several other people went about their work.

The Bronze Age shavings were almost always made from resin-free fir wood. The luminous shavings are in contrast to the pine shavings from historical times, which were mostly made from very resinous woods such as spruce or pine.

Bild1.jpg

Figure 1: Bronze Age salt mining with luminous chips, reconstruction, archive Salinen Austria

Bild2.jpg

Figure 2: Bronze Age luminous filings, Hallstatt Museum, Bartos Archive

Haselgebirge areas in the Alpine salt mines such as Hallstatt and Hallein, which are interspersed with residues of prehistoric salt production, are what the miner calls “Heidengebirge” . The remains of prehistoric mining can be found in the Heidengebirge mountains, such as burned-out fluorescent shavings, broken stalks, bast cords, leftovers from food and human excrement.

Bild3.jpg

Figure 3: Heidengebirge with burned-off luminescent shavings, Hallstatt salt mine, 2020, Kranabitl archive

pine shavings:

Wood with excessive resin inclusions is called "kienig". Kienholz arises from an external injury to the tree bark; the tree produces more resin to close the wound. The resin is transported to the wound and deposited there. After a certain time, the resin hardens, becomes crystalline, and the wood "kids". If you then fell the tree and cut or chop the trunk with all bark injuries into short pieces, which in turn are split lengthwise into thin, long chips, you get the "Kienspan". Pine chips had a flat - rectangular or square cross-section, which influenced the burning behavior. To improve the light yield, the chips were also impregnated with resin or wax.  

The pine shavings were also lit in the bare hand or in special holders in historical times. In some tunnels you can still find light niches with remains of clay into which the pine shavings could be stuck. Small lumps of clay were formed from lattes, into which the pine shavings were stuck during the work. From this developed clay holders with holes in which the pine shavings were inserted. However, these lighting fixtures, which were reusable in contrast to simple lumps of lattice, had the major disadvantage of being fragile and were gradually replaced by iron pine holders.

Bild4.jpg

The "light chip" or the "light torch" was used in alpine salt mines until the late 19th century.

Figure 4: Medieval pine chip holder with pine chip, Wikipedia

       

Tallow Lamps:        

                                                                              

Luminous filings were replaced by the use of tallow in the form of candles or open lamps. Unschlitt was absolutely essential for mining for a long time. In order to guarantee extreme economy, the huts often had to pay for light and fuel themselves, since the mining operating costs for tallow were usually up to 10% and more. "Unschlitt" is created by gently frying the beef fat at no more than 60°C in an uncovered pot or pan. The water escaped and what was left was the solid tallow. This was an incredibly smelly affair.

Bild5.jpg

Figure 5: Box rooms, candle lights, Kefer, 1836, Archive Salinen Austria

Bild6.jpg

Figure 6: Manual drilling work, candlelight, Kefer, 1836, Archive Salinen Austria

Bild7.jpg

Figure 7: Cladding work, supervisors with frog lamps and candle lanterns, Kefer, 1836, Archiv Salinen Austria

A wick was inserted into the tallow lamp and pinched on one side. Then heated tallow was poured. Furthermore, a spatula-shaped tool was attached to a leather strap, which was used to pull the wick further.

Bild8.jpg

Figure 8: Clay lamp with tallow and wick, Wikipedia

Bild9.jpg

Figure 9: Chest runner with tallow frog, Schwazer Bergbuch, 1554, Internet

The lamps operated with tallow gave a pale light and could only slightly illuminate the tunnels and mining sites with a small, yellowish flame. The fact that this fuel was able to prevail over oil for centuries was certainly due to its gentle way of burning and the development of little or almost no sooty smoke. Its solid, wax-like consistency prevented careless spilling of this valuable fuel, which was a great advantage when using the open-topped clay lamps that were common at the time.

The first lamp constructions, which developed from Greek and Roman models, were simple bowls made of stone or clay for burning fat.

Bild10.jpg

Figure 10: Roman clay lamp, Wikipedia

The shape of this lamp, which is open at the top, is reminiscent of a triangular boat with strongly rounded corners. The burner snout curves into the base and at the rear at the opposite, wide end of the crucible there is a tubular, cylindrical grip hole, big enough for a finger so that it could be carried stably. The average size of this lamp was 11.5 by 8 by 2.5 cm.

According to old records, the shift lasted as long as a lamp fully operated with tallow could burn, ie 7 to 8 hours depending on the strength of the wick.

These shapely chandeliers made of clay had the disadvantage of breaking relatively quickly, but were probably inexpensive to produce. When burning, the clay lamp warmed up only slightly and only melted the waxy consistency of the tallow in the vicinity of the wick, making it impossible for the tallow to spill out of the lamp.  

From the 18th century onwards, a 4 mm thick, 8 x 10 cm large, open-topped frog lamp made of sheet iron or cast iron was used in many mining areas. The name may have been derived from the distantly similar shape of a seated frog. The advantage of this lamp was its great robustness and its indestructibility due to its simple, solid construction.

It was burned with tallow or oil, though if the lamp was moved the oil could be spilled. If you burned with tallow, this lamp warmed up less quickly than a thin-walled tin lamp due to the thick walls, but after a while it got so warm that the tallow liquefied too much and could also easily be spilled if you weren't careful.

Bild11.jpg

Figure 11: Open tallow frog, description of manipulation 1807 – 1815, Archive Salinen Austria

Bild12.jpg

Figure 12: Brine measuring trough, miner with tallow frog, Kefer, 1836, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild13.jpg

Illustration 13 : Open tallow frog, around 1880, Austria, from Kieser "Mining Lamps"

The tallow was even used as food in poor families. What the worker saved from the allowance he brought home. Pieces of bread thrown into the liquefied tallow served to attract the unpleasant smell.

The importance of tallow is shown in the Reformation Dragonfly from 1563. In it, the weekly amount of tallow allocated to the miner and miner, the iron workers, the rustlers, the servants, etc. is already specified for the Hallstatt salt mines. The miners received the tallow from the office free of charge, up to 1832 as an annual flat rate as before, namely Gedinghauer and Schopfknappen 66 pounds (37 kg), the other miners 33 to 39 pounds (18.5 - 21.2 kg).

In addition to the tallow lamps, the oil lamps increasingly came to the fore in the 18th century. However, tallow was used as a fuel for the pit lamps in the Alpine salt mines well into the 19th century.

         

oil lamps:

At the end of the 18th century there were first attempts to introduce oil lamps in the Salzbergen, which were fed with rapeseed oil ("Rüböl"). They were originally made of sheet iron (“tin cover”) or cast iron (“caster”), later also made of brass (“official frog” or “steeger’s lamp”) for the supervisory staff. The use of brass for this professional group was not only a status symbol but was also a necessity when surveying with a compass.

The typical Austrian design of the frog-shaped miner's lamps for oil fires was the "Pirringer Frog". A shallow, closed container held the rubbing oil. A twisted flax wick was inserted in the front of the lid, which was held in place with a clamp secured by a screw so that it could be easily and quickly adjusted. At the back was a handle to which a hook or chain was attached for hanging. In some versions, the handle ended at the front in the form of a small mirror to increase the luminosity of the small oil flame.

Bild14.jpg
Bild15.jpg

 Figure 14: Closed oil lamp, Pirringer, around 1890, Austria, from Kieser "Mining Lamps"

 Figure 15: Closed oil lamp, brass riser lamp, around 1890, Germany, Internet

Bild16.jpg

Figure 16: Ludovika - tunnel, miners with oil frog, around 1910, Bartos archive

bezels:

In the middle of the 18th century, efforts to better protect oil and candle lights from weather drafts or dripping water led to the introduction of screens, tin-lined wooden boxes to hold a light. These stable cases were closed on five sides. The front was open and could be closed by a door. If the side parts or the back were transparent, this form of lighting was called a lantern. However, because of their fragility, lanterns have not found as widespread use as the shades.

In addition to candles, light sources for the screens were also oil or later kerosene lamps, which were referred to as cuckoos. The cuckoo or the candle could be carried in the visor during the trip and could be removed on the spot and placed on a lump of lettuce to serve individual needs according to the illumination of the workplace.

The use of screens in the Dürrnberg salt mine was of great importance. Hallein screens were in use there until the end of the 19th century.

Bild17.jpg

Figure 17: Halleiner aperture, around 1850, from "Mining - Everyday Life and Identity"

Bild18.jpg

Figure 18: Halleiner aperture, around 1850, Nussbaumer Archive

carbide lamps:

However, it only got really bright underground with the carbide lamp.

Calcium carbide was first produced in the laboratory by Robert Hare in 1836 by heating calcium and carbon to 1000°C. We owe Friedrich Wöhler the discovery in 1862 that combustible acetylene gas can be produced from calcium carbide and water. In his experiments, he burned the gas escaping from a narrow nozzle with a bright flame. Around 30 years later, the patent for the production of calcium carbide from lime and coal in the electric arc furnace in the USA paved the way for large-scale production.

Bild19.jpg

Figure 19: Calcium Carbide, Internet

Bild20.jpg

Figure 20: Tapping of calcium carbide from the electric arc furnace, from "Advertising brochure - Donau Chemie AG"

Bild21.jpg

From around 1895, carbide lamps were widely used in firedamp-free mines and quickly replaced the oil or candle lights that had been used until then. Compared to traditional lamps, the advantages of carbide lamps were that they were about ten times brighter. The carbide lamps were more reliable underground because they did not go out as quickly in the wind or under dripping water.  

The working principle of the carbide lamp was as follows. The upper part of the lamp consisted of the water tank and the lower part consisted of the carbide container. Water from the water tank, regulated by a valve with a screw, dripped onto the underlying carbide, releasing flammable acetylene gas. The gas reached the "burner" through an opening ("burner pipe"), where it could be ignited at a ceramic nozzle with fine holes and burned with a bright flame.

Figure 21: Carbide lamp, principle of operation, Internet

For safety reasons, the water and carbide containers were firmly connected to each other with a tensioning bracket construction. In addition, a rubber seal was inserted. The tin carbide cover was placed on the carbide filling, which was intended to hold down the carbide that swelled up during the reaction. For this reason, the carbide container was only allowed to be half filled with carbide when it was commissioned.   

As a further development, a circular, hollow-shell reflector made of polished metal (brass) was installed behind the burner nozzle in later times, which again made a significant contribution to improving the light output. The light phenomenon caused by the reflector always contained a special statement. Every miner knew how to interpret a yellow light underground as officials, whereas the simple miner wore a white light. Brass reflectors that gave yellow light were reserved for supervisory staff, while working staff wore only a sheet metal or aluminum reflector.

A carbide lamp filling was enough for a good 8 hours of operation. After each use, the carbide sludge had to be removed from the bottom pot and the lamp cleaned well. Because of the great risk of explosion from acetylene gas, separate "lamp rooms" were set up away from the miners' houses for handling carbide for safety reasons.

Bild22.jpg

Figure 22: Carbide lamp, around 1950, Germany, from Kieser "Minig Lamps"

Bild23.jpg

Figure 23: Carbide lamp, brass riser lamp, around 1920, Germany, from Kieser "Mining Lamps"

Due to the color of the flame, carbide lamps also showed the oxygen content of the mine air ("weather"). A bright, white flame was a sign of sufficient oxygen ("fresh weather"), a small, orange, sooty flame was an indication of high carbon dioxide levels and oxygen deficiency ("dull weather").

Carbide lamps were used in the alpine salt mountains until the 1980s.

Bild24.jpg

Figure 24: Reconstruction work, miner with carbide lamp, around 1930, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild25.jpg

Figure 25: Conveyor with carbide lamp, around 1930, ÖNB archive

Electric miner's lamps:

The first electric miner's lamps were developed in France as early as 1860. However, the high price and weight of these lamps limited their distribution. Only with the development of powerful and significantly lighter lead-acid batteries and nickel-cadmium batteries at the beginning of the 20th century could the electric light, first in the form of hand lamps and later also as head lamps, begin its triumphant advance.

Electric headlamps were already in use in the USA in the 1920s. They allowed the hands to be used freely when driving and working. Another advantage was the helmet attachment, which means that the light always fell in the wearer's line of sight.

The first electric hand lamps were purchased in the Bad Ischl salt mine in early 1945 as part of the storage of art objects. Because of the open flames of the carbide lamps, there was a great risk of fire in the storage rooms, especially because of the packaging material. This danger could be eliminated by using electric hand lamps.

Bild26.jpg

Figure 26: Electric hand lamp, Bad Ischl salt mine, 1945, Arthofer Collection

Portable electric miner's lamps initially came in many different forms. The "team lamp" had the highest luminosity and could be used as a simple hand lamp. Individual miners, such as supervisors, used "climber lamps", which were significantly lighter than team lamps. "Head lamps" were used whenever hands had to be free. The battery was attached to the belt, a flexible cable led to the light bulb on the head piece of the lamp, which could be pushed into a fastening rail on the helmet. From the 1970s, headlamps increasingly began to replace carbide lamps.

Bild27.jpg

Figure 27: Electric head lamp with lead-acid battery, around 1960, Germany, from Kieser “Mining Lamps!

Bild28.jpg

Figure 28: Wireless LED lamp, KLT GmbH - Hagen, Germany

Today, lamps are mostly used in which the small, powerful nickel-ion battery is built into the head piece. This eliminates the need for cable connections that get in the way of work. Particularly important mine locations, such as places of work, workshops or lounges, are illuminated with stationary lighting fixtures connected to the power grid.

Sources used:

Carl Schraml "The Upper Austrian salt works from the beginning of the 16th to the middle of the 18th century", Vienna 1932

Carl Schraml "The Upper Austrian Salt Works from 1750 to the time after the French Wars", Vienna 1934

Carl Schraml "The Upper Austrian Salt Works from 1818 to the end of the Salt Office in 1850", Vienna 1936

Robert Stibich "Mine Hunt and Knappenross", Brixlegg, 2011

Friedrich Morton "Ischl's Salt Blessing", in "Bad Ischl - Past and Present", Bad Ischl

Werner Börkel and Horst Woeckner "Des Bergmanns Geglüh", fourth volume, Essen 1983

bottom of page

Geleucht

Als „Geleucht“ bezeichnet der Bergmann alle unter Tage verwendeten Beleuchtungseinrichtungen. Im Bergbau hat das Licht eine wichtige Rolle, da es die Sicherheit und auch die Arbeitsleistung eines Bergmannes wesentlich beeinflussen kann. Für den Bergmann selbst ist die Leuchtkraft eines Geleuchtes sowie dessen Verhalten unter extremen Bedingungen entscheidend.

Prähistorische Leuchtspäne:

Brennendes Holz zählt zu den ältesten Formen künstlicher Beleuchtung. Holzfackeln hatten den Nachteil der starken Rauchentwicklung und des schlechten Brennverhaltens. Das erste unter Tage verwendete Geleucht war der „Leuchtspan“.

Aus dem Salzbergbau Hallstatt sind Reste mehr als 3000 Jahre alter Leuchtspäne bekannt. Die Bergleute verwendeten dünne, gespaltene Stäbe aus Tannenholz, die vor dem Entzünden etwa einen Meter lang waren. Abgebrannt wurden die Leuchtspäne einzeln. War ein Span niedergebrannt, musste ein neuer angezündet werden. Die Rauchentwicklung im Bergwerk dürfte aufgrund der vielen permanent brennenden Leuchtstäbe enorm gewesen sein. Zahnabdrücke auf einigen gefundenen Stäben lassen vermuten, dass sie gelegentlich mit den Zähnen gehalten wurden. Im Regelfall ist davon auszugehen, dass die Späne von einer Person, vielleicht einem Kind, gehalten wurden, während mehrere andere Personen ihrer Arbeit nachgingen.

Die bronzezeitlichen Leuchtspäne wurden fast immer aus dem harzfreien Tannenholz gefertigt. Damit stehen die Leuchtspäne im Gegensatz zu den Kienspänen aus historischer Zeit, die meist aus sehr harzreichen Hölzern wie Fichte oder Kiefer hergestellt wurden.

Bild1.jpg

Abbildung 1:Bronzezeitlicher Salzabbau mit Leuchtspänen, Rekonstruktion, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild2.jpg

Abbildung 2: Bronzezeitliche Leuchtspänne, Museum Hallstatt, Archiv Bartos

Haselgebirgspartien in den alpinen Salzbergbauen wie Hallstatt und Hallein, die mit Rückständen der prähistorischen Salzgewinnung durchsetzt sind, nennt der Bergmann „Heidengebirge“. Im Heidengebirge findet man die Überreste des prähistorischen Bergbaus, wie abgebrannte Leuchtspäne, zerbrochene Gezähestiele, Bastschnüre, Essensreste sowie menschliche Exkremente.

Bild3.jpg

Abbildung 3: Heidengebirge mit abgebrannten Leuchtspänen, Salzbergbau Hallstatt, 2020, Archiv Kranabitl

Kienspäne:

Holz mit übermäßigen Harzeinschlüssen wird „kienig“ genannt. Kienholz entsteht durch eine äußere Verletzung der Baumrinde; der Baum produziert, um die Wunde zu schließen, mehr Harz. Das Harz wird zur Wunde transportiert und lagert sich dort ab. Nach einer gewissen Zeit verhärtet das Harz, wird kristallin, das Holz „verkient“. Fällt man dann den Baum und schneidet oder hackt man den Stamm bei allen Rindenverletzungen in kurze Stücke, die man wiederum der Länge nach in dünne, lange Späne spaltet, so erhält man den „Kienspan“. Kienspäne hatten einen flach – rechteckigen oder quadratischen Querschnitt wodurch das Brennverhalten beeinflusst wurde. Zur Verbesserung der Lichtausbeute wurden die Späne auch mit Harz oder Wachs getränkt. 

Der Kienspan wurde auch in historischer Zeit in der bloßen Hand oder in speziellen Halterungen angezündet. In manchen Stollen findet man noch Leuchtnischen mit Lehmresten, in den die Kienspäne gesteckt werden konnten. Aus Letten wurden kleine Tonklumpen geformt, in welche die Kienspäne während der Arbeit gesteckt wurden. Daraus entwickelten sich gebrannte Halter aus Ton mit Löchern, in welche die Kienspäne hineingesteckt wurden. Diese im Gegensatz zu einfachen Lettenklumpen wieder verwendbaren Beleuchtungskörper hatten jedoch den großen Nachteil der Zerbrechlichkeit und wurden im Laufe der Zeit von eisernen Kienspanhaltern abgelöst.

Bild4.jpg

Der „Leuchtspan“ oder die „Leuchtfackel“ fanden in den alpinen Salzbergbauen teilweise bis ins späte 19. Jahrhundert Verwendung.

Abbildung 4: Mittelalterlicher Kienspanhalter mit Kienspan, Wikipedia

             

Unschlittlampen:           

                                                                                                                                                           

Abgelöst wurden Leuchtspan durch die Verwendung von Unschlitt in Form von Kerzen oder offenen Lampen. Unschlitt war längere Zeit für den Bergbau absolut unentbehrlich. Um äußerste Sparsamkeit zu garantieren, mussten die Häuer oft für Licht und Brennmaterial selbst aufkommen, da die bergbaulichen Betriebskosten für Unschlitt meist bis zu 10% und mehr betrugen. „Unschlitt“ entsteht durch behutsames Ausbraten des Rinderfetts bei nicht mehr als 60°C in einem nicht abgedeckten Topf oder Pfanne. Dabei entwich das Wasser und übrig blieb das feste Unschlitt. Dies war eine unglaublich stinkende Angelegenheit.

Bild5.jpg

Abbildung 5: Kastenzimmern, Kerzengeleucht, Kefer, 1836, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild6.jpg

Abbildung 6: Händische Bohrarbeit, Kerzengeleucht, Kefer, 1836, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild7.jpg

Abbildung 7: Verdämmarbeiten, Aufsichtspersonal mit Froschlampe und Kerzenlaterne, Kefer, 1836, Archiv Salinen Austria

In die Unschlittlampe wurde ein Docht eingelegt und an einer Seite eingeklemmt. Dann wurde erwärmtes Unschlitt eingegossen. Weiters war an einem Lederriemen ein Spatel - förmiges Werkzeug befestigt, dass zum Weiterziehen des Dochtes diente.

Bild8.jpg

Abbildung 8: Tonlampe mit Unschlitt und Docht, Wikipedia

Bild9.jpg

Abbildung 9: Truhenläufer mit Unschlittfrosch, Schwazer Bergbuch, 1554, Internet

Die mit Unschlitt betriebene Lampen ergaben ein fahles Licht und konnten die Stollen und Abbauorte durch eine kleine, gelbliche Flamme nur wenig erhellen. Dass sich dieses Brennmaterial über Jahrhunderte hinweg gegenüber Öl so durchzusetzen vermochte, lag sicherlich an seiner sanften Art abzubrennen und dabei wenig bis fast gar keinen rußigen Rauch zu entwickeln. Seine feste, wachsähnliche Konsistenz verhinderte ein Verschütten dieses wertvollen Brennstoffes durch Unachtsamkeit, was bei der Verwendung der damals so üblichen, oben offenen Tonlampen ein großer Vorteil war.

Die ersten Lampenkonstruktionen, die sich aus griechischen und römischen Vorbildern entwickelten, waren einfache Schalen aus Stein oder Ton für den Fettbrand.

Bild10.jpg

Abbildung 10: Römische Tonlampe, Wikipedia

Die Form dieses oben offenen Geleuchts erinnert an ein dreieckiges Schiffchen mit stark abgerundeten Ecken. Die Brennerschnauze geht in einer Rundung in den Boden über und heckseitig am gegenüberliegenden, breiten Ende des Tiegels befindet sich ein röhrenförmiges, zylindrisches Griffloch, groß genug für einen Finger, damit sie stabil getragen werden konnte. Das Durchschnittsmaß dieser Lampe lag bei 11,5 mal 8 mal 2,5 cm.

So soll nach alten Aufzeichnungen die Schicht so lange gedauert haben, wie so eine voll mit Unschlitt betriebene Lampe zu brennen vermochte, d. h. je nach Dochtstärke 7 bis 8 Stunden.

Diese formschönen Geleuchte aus Ton hatten den Nachteil, verhältnismäßig schnell zu Bruch zu gingen, dürften aber bei der Herstellung kostengünstig gewesen sein. Beim Abbrennen erwärmte sich die Tonlampe nur geringfügig und ließ die wachsartige Konsistenz des Unschlitts nur in Dochtnähe durch Schmelzen flüssig werden, damit war ein Verschütten des Unschlitts aus der Lampe nicht möglich.  

In vielen Bergbaugebieten wurde ab dem 18. Jahrhundert eine ca. 4 mm starke, 8 mal 10 cm große, oben offene, aus Eisenblech oder Gusseisen gefertigte Froschlampe verwendet. Der Name wurde möglicherweise von der entfernt ähnlichen Form eines sitzenden Frosches abgeleitet. Der Vorteil dieser Lampe war ihre große Robustheit und ihre Unverwüstlichkeit durch ihre einfache, massive Bauweise.

Sie wurde mit Unschlitt oder Öl gebrannt, wobei das Öl, wenn die Lampe bewegt wurde, vergossen werden konnte. Brannte man mit Unschlitt, erwärmte sich dieses Geleucht durch die dicke Wandstärke zwar weniger schnell als eine dünnwandige Blechlampe, wurde aber doch nach einiger Zeit des Brennens so warm, dass sich das Unschlitt zu stark verflüssigte und ebenfalls bei Unachtsamkeit leicht verschüttet werden konnte.

Bild11.jpg

Abbildung 11: offener Unschlittfrosch, Manipulationsbeschreibung 1807 – 1815, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild12.jpg

Abbildung 12: Solemesstrog, Bergmann mit Unschlittfrosch, Kefer, 1836, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild13.jpg

Abbildung 13: Offener Unschlittfrosch, um 1880, Österreich, aus Kieser „Mining Lamps“

Das Unschlitt wurde in armen Familien sogar zur Kost herangezogen. Was der Arbeiter vom Deputat ersparte, brachte er heim. In das flüssig gemachte Unschlitt hineingeworfene Brotstückchen dienten dazu, den unangenehmen Geruch anzuziehen.

Die Bedeutung von Unschlitt zeigt sich im Reformationslibell aus 1563. Darin wird für den Salzbergbau Hallstatt die wöchentliche Menge Unschlitt, welche dem Bergmeister und Bergschaffer, den Eisenhäuern, den Rüstern, den Knechten usw. zugeteilt wurde, bereits festgelegt. Die Bergknappen bezogen das Unschlitt vom Amte unentgeltlich, bis zum Jahre 1832 als Jahrespauschale im vorhin und zwar Gedinghauer und Schopfknappen 66 Pfund (37 kg), die übrigen Bergleute 33 bis 39 Pfund (18,5 – 21,2 kg).

Neben den Unschlittlampen traten im 18. Jh. immer mehr die Öllampen hervor. Die Verwendung von Unschlitt als Brennmittel für das Grubengeleucht erfolgte bei den alpinen Salzbergbauen jedoch bis in das 19. Jahrhundert hinein.

                 

Öllampen:

Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts gab es in den Salzbergen erste Versuche zur Einführung von Öllampen, welche mit Rapsöl („Rüböl“) gespeist wurden. Sie wurden ursprünglich aus Eisenblech („Blechdeckel“) oder Guß („Gießer“) gefertigt, später für das Aufsichtspersonal auch aus Messing („Beamtenfrosch“ oder „Steigerlampe“). Die Verwendung von Messing für diese Berufsgruppe war nicht nur Statussymbol sondern war bei Vermessungsarbeiten mit dem Kompass eine Notwendigkeit.

Die typische österreichische Ausbildung der froschförmigen Grubenlampen für Ölbrand war der „Pirringer Frosch“. Ein flacher, geschlossener Behälter enthielt das Ruböl. Vorne im Deckel war ein gedrehter Flachsdocht eingelegt, der mit einer durch eine Schraube gesicherten Klemme gehalten wurde, sodass er leicht und schnell verstellbar war. Hinten war ein Tragehenkel, an dem ein Hacken oder eine Kette zum Aufhängen befestigt wurde. Bei einigen Ausführungen endete der Henkel vorne in Form eines kleinen Spiegels, um die Leuchtkraft der kleinen Ölflamme zu erhöhen.

Bild14.jpg
Bild15.jpg

 Abbildung 14: Geschlossene Öllampe, Pirringer, um 1890, Österreich, aus Kieser „Mining Lamps“

 Abbildung 15: Geschlossene Öllampe, Steigerlampe aus Messing, um 1890, Deutschland, Internet

Bild16.jpg

Abbildung 16: Ludovika - Stollen, Bergleute mit Ölfrosch, um 1910, Archiv Bartos

Blenden:

Das Bestreben, Öl- und Kerzengeleucht vor Wetterzug oder Tropfwasser besser zu schützen, führte Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts zur Einführung von Blenden, blechausgeschlagene Holzkästen zur Aufnahme eines Lichtes. Diese stabilen Gehäuse waren an fünf Seiten geschlossen. Die Vorderseite war offen und konnte durch eine Tür verschlossen werden. Waren die Seitenteile oder auch die Rückseite transparent, wurde diese Geleuchtform Laterne genannt. Laternen haben jedoch wegen ihrer Zerbrechlichkeit nicht eine den Blenden entsprechende Verbreitung gefunden.

Lichtquellen der Blenden waren neben Kerzen auch Öl- oder später Petroleumlampen, die als Kuckuck bezeichnet wurden. Während der Fahrung in der Blende getragen, konnten der Kuckuck oder die Kerze vor Ort entnommen und auf einen Lettenklumpen gesteckt dem individuellen Bedürfnis entsprechend der Ausleuchtung des Arbeitsplatzes dienen.

Große Bedeutung hatte der Einsatz von Blenden im Salzbergbau Dürrnberg. Halleiner Blenden waren dort bis Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts im Einsatz.

Bild17.jpg

Abbildung 17: Halleiner Blende, um 1850, aus "Bergbau - Alltag und Identität"

Bild18.jpg

Abbildung 18: Halleiner Blende, um 1850, Archiv Nussbaumer

Karbidlampen:

Richtig hell wurde es unter Tage jedoch erst durch die Karbidlampe.

Kalziumkarbid wurde 1836 erstmals von Robert Hare im Laboratorium hergestellt, indem er Kalzium und Kohle auf 1000 °C erhitzte. Friedrich Wöhler ist 1862 die Entdeckung zu verdanken, dass das brennbare Acetylengas sich aus Kalziumkarbid und Wasser herstellen lässt. Bei seinen Versuchen verbrannte er das aus einer engen Düse austretende Gas mit heller Flamme. Rund 30 Jahre später wurde in den USA mit dem Patent auf die Erzeugung von Kalziumkarbid aus Kalk und Kohle im elektrischen Lichtbogenofen der Weg für die großtechnische Produktion bereitet.

Bild19.jpg

Abbildung 19: Kalziumkarbid, Internet

Bild20.jpg

Abbildung 20: Abstich von Kalziumkarbid aus dem Lichtbogenofen, aus "Werbeprospekt - Donau Chemie AG"

Bild21.jpg

Seit etwa 1895 fanden Karbidlampen in den schlagwetterfreien Gruben eine weite Verbreitung und verdrängten schnell das bis dahin benutzte Öl- oder Kerzengeleucht. Gegenüber dem traditionellen Geleucht bestanden die Vorteile der Karbidlampen in der etwa zehnfachen Helligkeit. Unter Tage waren die Karbidlampen betriebssicherer, da sie im Wetterzug oder unter Tropfwasser nicht so schnell verlöschten. 

Das Arbeitsprinzip der Karbidlampe war folgendes. Der obere Teil der Lampe bestand aus dem Wassertank und der untere aus dem Karbidbehälter. Aus dem Wassertank tropfte durch ein Ventil mit einer Schraube reguliert Wasser auf das darunterliegende Karbid, wodurch brennbares Acetylengas frei wurde. Durch eine Öffnung („Brennerrohr“) gelangte das Gas zum „Brenner“, wo es an einer Keramikdüse mit feinen Bohrungen entzündet werden konnte und mit heller Flamme verbrannte.

Abbildung 21: Karbidlampe, Funktionsprinzip, Internet

Aus Sicherheitsgründen waren der Wasser- und der Karbidbehälter mit einer spannenden Bügelkonstruktion fest miteinander verbunden. Zusätzlich war eine Gummidichtung eingelegt. Auf die Karbidfüllung wurde der blecherne Karbiddeckel aufgelegt, welcher das sich in der Reaktion aufblähende Karbid niederhalten sollte. Aus diesem Grund durfte der Karbidbehälter bei Inbetriebnahme auch nur zur Hälfte mit Karbid gefüllt werden.   

Als Weiterentwicklung wurde in späterer Zeit noch ein kreisrunder, hohlschaliger Reflektor aus poliertem Metall (Messing) hinter der Brennerdüse angebracht, der nochmals erheblich zur Verbesserung der Lichtausbeute beitrug. Die vom Reflektor hervorgerufene Lichterscheinung beinhaltete immer eine besondere Aussage. Jeder Bergmann wusste ein gelbes Licht unter Tage als Beamten zu deuten, wogegen der einfache Bergmann ein weißes Licht trug. Messingreflektoren, die gelbes Licht ergaben, waren dem Aufsichtspersonal vorbehalten, während das Arbeitspersonal nur einen Blech- oder Aluminiumreflektor trug.

Eine Lampenfüllung Karbid reichte für gut 8 h Betrieb. Nach jeder Verwendung musste der Karbidschlamm aus dem unteren Topf entfernt und die Lampe gut gereinigt werden. Wegen der großen Explosionsgefahr von Acetylengas wurden aus Sicherheitsgründen eigene „Lampenstuben“ abseits der Knappenhäuser zum Hantieren mit Karbid errichtet.

Bild22.jpg

Abbildung 22: Karbidlampe, um 1950, Deutschland, aus Kieser „Minig Lamps“

Bild23.jpg

Abbildung 23: Karbidlampe, Steigerlampe aus Messing, um 1920, Deutschland, aus Kieser „Mining Lamps“

Karbidlampen zeigten aufgrund der Flammenfärbung auch den Sauerstoffgehalt der Grubenluft („Wetter“) an. Eine helle, weiße Flamme war ein Zeichen für genügend Sauerstoff („frische Wetter“), eine kleine, orangefarbene, rußende Flamme war ein Hinweis auf hohe Kohlendioxidgehalte und Sauerstoffmangel („matte Wetter“).

Karbidlampen wurden in den alpinen Salzbergen bis in die 1980er Jahre verwendet.

Bild24.jpg

Abbildung 24: Nachrissarbeiten, Bergmann mit Karbidlampe, um 1930, Archiv Salinen Austria

Bild25.jpg

Abbildung 25: Förderer mit Karbidlampe, um 1930, Archiv ÖNB

Elektrische Grubenlampen:

Die ersten elektrischen Grubenlampen wurden bereits 1860 in Frankreich entwickelt. Hoher Preis und ein großes Gewicht dieser Lampen beschränkten jedoch deren Verbreitung. Erst mit der Entwicklung leistungsfähiger und wesentlich leichterer Blei – Akkus sowie Nickel – Cadmium – Akkus konnte zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts das elektrische Geleucht, zuerst in Form von Handlampen, später auch als Kopflampen, seinen Siegeszug antreten.

Bereits in den 1920er Jahren waren in den USA elektrische Kopflampen im Einsatz. Sie ermöglichten den freien Gebrauch der Hände bei Fahrung und Arbeit. Ein weiterer Vorteil bestand in der Helmbefestigung, wodurch das Licht immer in die Blickrichtung des Trägers fiel.

Die ersten elektrischen Handlampen wurden im Salzbergbau Bad Ischl im Zuge der Kunstgütereinlagerung Anfang 1945 angeschafft. Wegen der offenen Flammen der Karbidlampen herrschte in den Lagerräumen, vor allem wegen dem Verpackungsmaterial, große Brandgefahr. Durch den Einsatz von elektrischen Handlampen konnte diese Gefahr ausgeschlossen werden.

Bild26.jpg

Abbildung 26: Elektrische Handlampe, Salzbergbau Bad Ischl, 1945, Sammlung Arthofer

Tragbare elektrische Grubenlampen gab es anfangs in vielen verschiedenen Ausführungsarten. Die „Mannschaftslampe“ besaß die höchste Leuchtkraft und konnte als einfache Handlampe verwendet werden. Einzelne Bergleute, wie beispielsweise Aufsichtspersonal, setzten „Steigerlampen“ ein, welche wesentlich leichter als Mannschaftslampen waren. „Kopflampen“ wurden immer dann verwendet, wenn die Hände frei sein mussten. Der Akku wurde dazu am Gürtel befestigt, ein flexibles Kabel führte zur Glühbirne am Kopfstück der Lampe, welches in eine Befestigungsschiene am Helm einschoben werden konnte. Die Kopflampen begannen ab den 1970er Jahren zunehmend die Karbidlampen zu verdrängen.

Bild27.jpg

Abbildung 27: Elektrische Kopflampe mit Bleiakku, um 1960, Deutschland, aus Kieser „Mining Lamps!

Bild28.jpg

Abbildung 28: Kabellose LED-Lampe, Fa. KLT Gmbh - Hagen, Deutschland

Heute verwendet man zumeist Lampen, bei denen der kleine, leistungsfähige Nickel – Ionen - Akku im Kopfstück eingebaut ist. Dadurch sind keine, bei der Arbeit störenden, Kabelverbindungen mehr nötig. Besonders wichtige Grubenstandorte, wie Arbeitsorte, Werkstätten oder Aufenthaltsräume werden mit, ans Stromnetz angeschlossenen, stationären Beleuchtungskörpern ausgeleuchtet.

Verwendete Quellen:

Carl Schraml „Das oberösterreichische Salinenwesen vom Beginne des 16. Bis zur Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts“, Wien 1932

Carl Schraml „Das oberösterreichische Salinenwesen von 1750 bis in die Zeit nach den Franzosenkriegen“, Wien 1934

Carl Schraml „Das oberösterreichische Salinenwesen von 1818 bis zum Ende des Salzamtes 1850“, Wien 1936

Robert Stibich „Grubenhunt und Knappenross“, Brixlegg, 2011

Friedrich Morton „Ischls Salzsegen“, in „Bad Ischl – Vergangenheit und Gegenwart“, Bad Ischl

Werner Börkel und Horst Woeckner „Des Bergmanns Geleucht“, vierter Band, Essen 1983