top of page

mine lining

The pit lining is one of the most important safety precautions in mining. It absorbs mountain stresses and derives them using simple means. The resulting support of the rock allows pit spaces to be kept open and the miners in them to be protected from falling rocks or collapsing tunnels.

The limestone surrounding the alpine salt deposits is largely stable and therefore does not require any complex expansion work. Marl and slate zones occurring at the transition to the Haselgebirge, as well as many areas of the Haselgebirge itself, must be kept open with mine linings.

woodwork:

The first extensions were simply timbered, rectangular "door frames" made of wood. They usually consist of 2 vertical uprights ("stamps") and a horizontal crossbeam ("cap") lying on top. Among the door frame extensions, a distinction is made between the "German door frame" and the "Polish door frame".

In the case of the “German door frame”, the caps are leafed with the stamps . A distinction is made as to whether ridge pressure or side pressure prevails. Due to the different design of the leafing, the door frame is designed in such a way that it can better absorb either the ridge or side pressure. The disadvantage of the "German door frame" is the complex production of the leafing.

image001.jpg

Figure 1: German door frame extension, 1910, from Heise Herbst "Mining Science"

image002.jpg

Figure 2: German door frame extension, sheeting, internet

image003.jpg

Figure 3: German door frame extension, Kefer, 1836, Archive Salinen Austria

image004.jpg

Figure 4: German door frame extension with basic timber, Kefer, 1836, Archiv Salinen Austria

image005.jpg

Figure 5: German door frame carpentry with wood lag, Thienfeldkehr, Leopoldstollen, 1998, Kranabitl archive

With the "Polish door frame", the stamp is provided with a round indentation (“scar-out”) at the top end, the cap is not processed and is placed directly in the panel. As a result, the Polish door frame can only absorb ridge pressure and no laterally acting forces. In order to give the stamps better stability against lateral pressure effects, a wooden pole, the so-called "fox", is driven in just under the cap. Due to this head brace, the Polish door frame can also absorb lateral forces to a small extent. The advantage of the Polish door frame is its simple construction, which can also be made by inexperienced carpenters.

image006.jpg

Figure 6: Polish door frame extension, 1903, from Köhler "Bergbaukunde"

Wood as a finish has the advantage of being cheap, readily available, easily machined and immediately resilient. It also has a warning function that should not be ignored, since scaffolding wood begins to crunch under heavy loads. However, wood has the disadvantage that, compared to other materials, it is not very strong and is susceptible to fire and rot.

As early as 1796, Oberamtrat Kner ordered that wood be soaked in brine in order to limit the consumption of firewood at the Ischler Salzberg. For this purpose, a separate brine room was built next to the mouth of the Amalia tunnel. This could accommodate 1000 stamps, which gave way in the brine for three months.

If necessary, the door frame is clad on the side with wooden boards or sheet metal (“warping”) in order to secure the side walls (“elm”). The hollow space behind the warp is filled with heaps of timber in order to be able to create a non-positive connection with the rock.

If necessary, the door frames can be reinforced by installing additional "knee stamps" or "polygon stamps".

image007.jpg

Figure 7: Polygon lining, main shaft, Leopold tunnel, 1998, Kranabitl archive

As early as 1807, Hofrat Gigant recommended replacing the door frame carpentry, which often had to be renewed, with elliptical dry lining made of quarry stone in stretches with very billowing rock and thus correspondingly high rock pressure.

For example, the main shaft of the Johannes tunnel was in such squeezing clay that the door frame had to be replaced every year. To keep this 230 m long stretch open, 2 scaffolders were constantly required.

image008.jpg

Figure 8: German door frame extension with quarry stone masonry, Steiner, 1820, Archiv Salinen Austria

image009.jpg

Figure 9: Extension of the stile, description of the manipulation, 1807 - 1815, Archiv Salinen Austria

image011.jpg
image010.jpg

Figure 10: Tower extension, Dürrnberg salt mine, around 1950, Archiv Salinen Austria

A special form of wood construction was the so-called "Stöckelausbau". In the process, a completely closed, elliptical lining was built from precisely cut pieces of wood in particularly squeezing sections. Despite the longer service life, this expansion, which was expensive to produce, was not able to gain acceptance.

Figure 11: Timbering in stacks, Altaussee salt mine, around 1930, ÖNB archive

Line lining:

It took a few more years before the Ischl mountain championship could be convinced of the advantages of brick lining. The first pit walls made of quarry stone and white lime mortar were carried out in 1840 in the Ritschner conversion in the Neuberg tunnel and on the main shaft of the Ludovica tunnel.

image012.jpg

Figure 12: Dry  Quarry stone masonry, Hallstatt salt mine, Wallmann, 1846, GBA archive

image013.jpg

Figure 13: Dry quarry stone masonry, Altaussee salt mine, around 1930, Archiv Salinen Austria

In 1845, a deposit of marl layers that could be combusted into hydraulic lime (“Roßfeld marl”) was discovered on the Ischler Salzberg. Since cement was still unknown at that time, hydraulic lime was used as an admixture to white lime mortar for lining squeezing, damp sections. The salt mine built a small quarry, crushing and stamping works, as well as a furnace for the production of this hydraulic lime, which is now referred to as "Roman cement". With a cubic cord of wood (6.82m³) 30 hundredweight of lime (1,680 kg) could be burned, the hundredweight packed cost 40 Kreuzer. In 1847, the saltworks sold 120 hundredweight (6,720 kg) of burnt hydraulic lime to customers every week.

image014.jpg

Figure 14: Cement works, Josefstollen, site plan, around 1850, Archiv Salinen Austria

Large sections could now be lined with Roman cement mortar. Many of these old tunnel linings, such as in the Ludovica tunnel - main shaft, still serve their purpose today.

image015.jpg

Figure 15: Quarry stone lining with Roman cement mortar, main shaft, Matthias tunnel, 2011, Kranabitl archive

image016.jpg

Figure 16: Quarry stone lining with Roman cement mortar, main shaft, Ludovica tunnel, 1998, Kranabitl archive

image017.jpg

Illustration 17 : Quarry stone lining, main shaft, Empress Maria Theresia tunnel, around 1930, Archive Salinen Austria

In addition to brick lining with quarry stones, prefabricated concrete segments were also used from the 1930s for lining wet stretches that were in danger of breaking.

image018.jpg

Figure 18: Lining with concrete segments, main shaft, Empress Maria Theresia tunnel, 1998, Kranabitl archive

Steelwork:

Today, steel door frames are installed, mainly on wet tracks. Different profile steels can be used in the creation. The easiest way to create a steel door frame is to use used railroad tracks. Due to the profile of the railroad tracks, however, it is difficult to connect the stamp and the cap. One way of connecting is to use angle brackets. For this purpose, the rail head and the rail foot must be processed accordingly.  

                               

Steel as a finishing material has the advantage that it is very strong, fireproof, reusable, durable and space-saving. A disadvantage, however, is its susceptibility to corrosion, especially on stretches of the Hasel Mountains.

image019.jpg

Figure 19: Iron ring extension with wood lining, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, around 1925, Archiv Salinen Austria

image020.jpg

Figure 20: Iron ring extension with wood lining, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, around 1930, Archiv Salinen Austria

image021.jpg

Figure 21: Steel ring expansion, Hallstatt salt mine, around 1950, archive Salinen Austria

At the beginning of the 20th century, steel ring support was developed. The ring expansion has a circular or elliptical shape. Normally, it consists of 4 arc segments that are lashed together so that they overlap.  A distinction is made between rigid ring support and flexible ring support. The flexibility of the expansion is achieved by sliding clamp straps. Due to the design, the lining segments can be pushed into one another in the flexible lining, which means that the lining can absorb the rock pressure within certain limits and is not destroyed. Flexible ring support is used in particularly squeezing sections, such as the Riethalerkehr in the Maria Theresia tunnel.

image022.jpg

Figure 22: Riethalerkehr, Kaiser Maria Theresia Stollen, 1998, Kranabitl archive

shotcrete:

From 1980, shotcrete was used in the salt mines to secure the pits. When using shotcrete, the surface of the rock is bound with concrete and thus protected from temperature, moisture or vibration. Before placing shotcrete, steel mats are attached to the side rails and ridges. They are used to absorb tensile forces and, in combination with the shotcrete, form sufficient final strength. At the Ischler Salzberg, the brittle marl layers of the Maria Theresia tunnel were completely secured with shotcrete.

Individual, slab-like spalling of the rock ("coffin lid") can be secured with rock bolts. Rock anchors are inserted into the mountain at Ulm or at Firste. They each consist of a long rod or a rope, which is anchored in the rock at the mountain-side end with an anchor base and holds the rock at the protruding end with a plate ("anchor head"). In this way, individual layers of rock can be "nailed together".

image023.jpg

Figure 23: Anchoring with grid, Hallstatt salt mine, 2020, Kranabitl archive

In general, only 40% of the stretches in the salt mines are finished (timbering or walling). The remaining mine workings are in the stable mountains (limestone) without lining.

 

Track outline:

As a result of the absorption of moisture, the clayey Haselgebirge becomes bloated; the same also occurs through the pressure of the mountains. In order to protect the room, the same must be regularly "depressurized". In the process, the stamps and caps of the door frame are removed (“stolen”) field by field, the routes are torn down and new timbering is erected. The mine workings in the Haselgebirge grow together by a few centimeters every year because of the enormous rock pressure of the limestone floes lying on the salt deposits, such as the diaphragm wall. Therefore, in order to restore the normal cross-section for driving, they have to be regularly torn down.

The normal routes have a cross-section of around 2 m² and an incline of 1-2%.

The maintenance construction accounts for around 30 to 40% of the total work on the salt mountains.

image024.jpg

Figure 24: Road outline in the Hasel Mountains, Hallstatt salt mine, around 1910, from Brandstätter “Salzkammergut”

image025.jpg

Figure 25: Road map in the Haselgebirge, Kaiser Franz Josef Erbstollen, around 1925, Archiv Salinen Austria

Sources used:

Carl Schraml "The Upper Austrian salt works from the beginning of the 16th to the middle of the 18th century", Vienna 1932

Carl Schraml "The Upper Austrian Salt Works from 1750 to the time after the French Wars", Vienna 1934

Carl Schraml "The Upper Austrian Salt Works from 1818 to the end of the Salt Office in 1850", Vienna 1936

"Ischler Salzbergbaubetrieb", manuscript, typescript, ca. 1950 -1955

L. Janiss "Technical help book for the Austrian salt mining company", Vienna 1934

Mine development Saline Austria currently

bottom of page

Grubenausbau

Der Grubenausbau gehört zu den wichtigsten Sicherheitsvorkehrungen im Bergbau. Er nimmt Gebirgsspannungen auf und leitet sie über einfache Mittel ab. Durch die so entstandene Abstützung des Gebirges können Grubenräume offen gehalten und die sich darin befindlichen Bergleute vor Steinschlägen oder Zusammenbrechen der Stollen geschützt werden.

 

Der die alpinen Salzlagerstätten umgebende Kalkstein ist weitgehend standsicher und benötigt so keine aufwendigen Ausbauten. Am Übergang zum Haselgebirge auftretende Mergel- und Schieferzonen sowie viele Bereiche des Haselgebirges selbst müssen mit Grubenausbauten offen gehalten werden.

 

Die ersten Ausbauten waren einfach gezimmerte, rechteckige „Türstöcke“ aus Holz. Sie bestehen in der Regel aus 2 vertikalen Stehern („Stempel“) und einem darauf liegenden horizontalen Querträger („Kappe“). Unter den Türstockausbauen unterscheidet man den „Deutschen Türstock“ und den „Polnischen Türstock“.

 

Beim „Deutschen Türstock“ werden die Kappen mit den Stempeln verblattet. Dabei wird unterschieden, ob Firstendruck oder Seitendruck vorherrscht. Durch die unterschiedliche Gestaltung der Verblattung wird der Türstock so ausgelegt, dass er entweder den First- oder den Seitendruck besser aufnehmen kann. Nachteilig beim „Deutschen Türstock“ ist die aufwendige Herstellung der Verblattung.

 

Beim „Polnischen Türstock“ wird der Stempel am oberen Ende mit einer runden Vertiefung („Ausscharung“) versehen, die Kappe wird nicht bearbeitet und direkt in die Schar gelegt. Dadurch kann der polnische Türstock nur Firstdruck und keine seitlich einwirkenden Kräfte aufnehmen. Um den Stempeln eine bessere Standfestigkeit gegen seitliche Druckeinwirkungen zu geben, wird dicht unter der Kappe ein Holzpfahl, der sogenannte „Fuchs“, eingeschlagen. Durch diese Kopfspreize kann der polnische Türstock in geringem Umfang auch Seitenkräfte aufnehmen. Vorteil des polnischen Türstocks ist die einfache Bauweise, die auch von ungeübten Zimmerhauern hergestellt werden kann.

 

Holz als Ausbau hat den Vorteil, dass es billig, leicht erhältlich, leicht bearbeitbar und sofort belastbar ist. Außerdem hat es eine nicht außer Acht zu lassende Warnfunktion, da Rüstholz bei großer Belastung zu knirschen beginnt. Holz hat aber den Nachteil, dass es im Vergleich zu anderen Materialien eine geringe Festigkeit besitzt sowie brand- und fäulnisanfällig ist.

 

Um den Verbrauch an Rüstholz am Ischler Salzberg einzuschränken, ordnete Oberamtrat Kner bereits 1796 dessen Tränkung in Sole an. Dazu wurde neben dem Mundloch des Amaliastollens eine eigene Solestube errichtet. Diese konnte 1000 Stempel aufnehmen, die drei Monate lang in der Sole weichten.

 

Wenn es erforderlich ist, verkleidet man den Türstock seitlich mit Holzbrettern oder Blechen („Verzug“), um so die Seitenwände („Ulme“) abzusichern. Der Hohlraum hinter dem Verzug wird mit Haufwerk verfüllt, um damit eine kraftschlüssige Verbindung mit dem Gebirge herstellen zu können.

 

Bei Bedarf können die Türstöcke durch den Einbau zusätzlicher „Kniestempel“ oder „Polygonstempel“ verstärkt werden.

 

Bereits 1807 empfahl Hofrat Gigant in Strecken mit sehr blähendem Gebirge und damit entsprechend großem Gebirgsdruck die häufig zu erneuernde Türstockzimmerung durch elliptische Trockenausmauerung aus Bruchsteinen zu ersetzen.

 

Beispielsweise stand die Hauptschachtricht des Johannesstollens in so druckhaftem Tongebirge, dass die Türstockzimmerung jährlich ausgetauscht werden musste. Zum offen halten dieser 230 m langen Strecke waren ständig 2 Rüster erforderlich.

 

Es dauerte noch einige Jahre bis die Ischler Bergmeisterschaft von den Vorteilen der Ausmauerung überzeugt werden konnte. Die ersten Grubenmauerungen aus Bruchsteinen und Weißkalkmörtel wurden 1840 im Ritschner Umbau im Neubergstollen und auf der Hauptschachtricht des Ludovikastollens ausgeführt.

 

Im Jahre 1845 wurde am Ischler Salzberg ein Vorkommen von zu hydraulischen Kalken brennbaren Mergelschichten („Roßfeldmergel“) entdeckt. Da zu dieser Zeit Zement noch unbekannt war, diente der hydraulische Kalk als Beimengung zum Weißkalkmörtel für die Ausmauerung druckhafter, feuchter Strecken. Der Salzbergbau errichtete beim Josef Stollen einen kleinen Steinbruch, Quetsch- und Pochwerke, sowie einen Flammofen zur Erzeugung dieses hydraulischen Kalkes, der heute als „Romanzement“ bezeichnet wird. Mit einem Kubik Klafter Holz (6,82m³) konnten 30 Zentner Kalk (1.680 kg) gebrannt werden, der Zentner kostete verpackt 40 Kreuzer. 1847 verkaufte die Saline wöchentlich 120 Zentner (6.720 kg) gebrannten, hydraulischen Kalk an Kunden weiter.

 

Mit Romanzementmörtel konnten nun im großen Umfang Strecken ausgemauert werden. Viele dieser alten Stollenausmauerungen, wie etwa im Ludovikastollen - Hauptschachtricht, erfüllen bis heute ihren Zweck.

 

Heute werden, hauptsächlich in nassen Strecken, Türstöcke aus Stahl eingebaut. Bei der Erstellung können unterschiedliche Profilstähle verwendet werden. Die einfachste Art einen Türstock aus Stahl zu erstellen, ist die Nutzung von gebrauchten Eisenbahnschienen. Aufgrund des Profiles der Bahnschienen ist jedoch eine Verbindung von Stempel und Kappe nur schlecht möglich. Eine Möglichkeit der Verbindung ist die Verwendung von Winkellaschen. Hierfür müssen der Schienenkopf und der Schienenfuß entsprechend bearbeitet werden.                                                                 

 

Stahl als Ausbaumaterial hat den Vorteil, dass er sehr fest, feuersicher, mehrfach verwendbar, langlebiger und auch Platz sparender ist. Nachteilig ist jedoch seine Korrosionsanfälligkeit, besonders in Haselgebirgsstrecken.

 

Anfang des 20. Jh. wurde der Stahlringausbau entwickelt. Der Ringausbau hat eine kreisrunde oder eine elliptische Form. Er besteht im Normalfall aus 4 Bogensegmenten, die miteinander überlappend verlascht werden.  Man unterscheidet zwischen starrem Ringausbau und nachgiebigem Ringausbau. Die Nachgiebigkeit des Ausbaus wird durch verschiebbare Klammerlaschen erreicht. Konstruktionsbedingt lassen sich die Ausbausegmente beim nachgiebigen Ausbau ineinander verschieben, dadurch kann der Ausbau den Gebirgsdruck in bestimmten Grenzen aufnehmen und wird nicht zerstört. Nachgiebiger Ringausbau wird in besonders druckhaften  Strecken, wie etwa der Stampferkehr im Maria Theresia Stollen, eingesetzt.

 

Ab 1980 wird in den Salzbergwerken Spritzbeton zur Grubensicherung verwendet. Beim Einsatz von Spritzbeton wird die Oberfläche des Gesteins mit Beton gebunden und dadurch vor Temperatur, Feuchtigkeit oder Erschütterung geschützt. Bevor man Spritzbeton aufbringt, werden Stahlmatten an den Ulmen und der Firste befestigt. Sie dienen zur Aufnahme von Zugkräften und bilden in der Kombination mit dem Spritzbeton erst die ausreichende Endfestigkeit. Am Ischler Salzberg wurden die brüchigen Mergelschichten des Maria Theresia Stollens zur Gänze mit Spritzbeton abgesichert.

 

Einzelne, plattenförmige Abplatzungen des Gesteins („Sargdeckel“) können mit Gebirgsankern abgesichert werden. Gebirgsanker werden am Ulm oder an der Firste in das Gebirge eingebracht. Sie bestehen jeweils aus einer langen Stange oder einem Seil, die am gebirgsseitigen Ende mit einem Ankerfuß im Gestein verankert werden und am herausstehenden Ende mit einer Platte („Ankerkopf“) das Gestein halten. So können einzelne Gesteinsschichten „zusammengenagelt“ werden.

 

Im Allgemeinen sind die Strecken in den Salzbergbauen nur zu 40 % in Ausbau (Zimmerung oder Mauerung) ausgeführt. Die restlichen Grubenbaue stehen im standfesten Gebirge (Kalkstein) ohne Ausbau.

 

Infolge Aufnahme von Feuchtigkeit wird das tonige Haselgebirge blähend; dasselbe tritt auch durch den Gebirgsdruck ein. Um die Zimmerung zu schonen, muss dieselbe regelmäßig „außer Druck“ gesetzt werden. Dabei werden die Stempel und Kappen der Türstockzimmerung feldweise abgetragen („geraubt“), die Strecken nachgerissen und neue Zimmerungen aufgestellt. Die Grubenbaue im Haselgebirge wachsen, wegen des enormen Gebirgsdrucks der auf dem Salzlager liegenden Kalkschollen, wie etwa der Zwerchwand, jährlich um einige Zentimeter zusammen. Deshalb müssen sie, um den normalen Querschnitt für das Befahren wiederherzustellen, regelmäßig nachgerissen werden.

 

Die normalen Strecken haben einen Querschnitt von rd. 2 m² und eine Steigung von 1 – 2 %.

 

Der Erhaltungsbau beträgt rund 30 bis 40 % der Gesamtarbeiten auf den Salzbergen.

Verwendete Quellen:

Carl Schraml „Das oberösterreichische Salinenwesen vom Beginne des 16. Bis zur Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts“, Wien 1932

Carl Schraml „Das oberösterreichische Salinenwesen von 1750 bis zur Zeit nach den Franzosenkriegen“, Wien 1934

Carl Schraml „Das oberösterreichische Salinenwesen von 1818 bis zum Ende des Salzamtes 1850“, Wien 1936

„Ischler Salzbergbaubetrieb“, Manuskript, Maschinenschrift, ca. 1950 -1955

L. Janiss „Technisches Hilfsbuch für den österreichischen Salzbergbaubetrieb“, Wien 1934